Grandpa's Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I have a friend who is violently allergic to onions. When I’m trying to find “fun food” recipes for occasions when we are having a party, it’s difficult to find foods to accommodate all of the guests. Grandpa's Guacamole is wonderful as written, and I wouldn’t change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Stiewig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I loved it. It took me two minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay Langley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was pretty good and quick. I did not have regular ranch dressing mix, so I used HVR Fiesta Ranch Dip Mix (it is a little saltier, though). I also gave it a good squirt of lemon juice. I cut the avocado in small pieces instead of mashing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This dip was super easy, and if you like ranch as much as I do, you'll love it. Very creamy, and I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This guac is good for us, because my husband does not like tomatoes. I can't have cilantro, I'm allergic. We mixed 2 avocados w/ 1/2c sour cream, 2 tbls lime juice,, couple dashes of garlic salt... and it was amazing! I left out the ranch... didn't have any powder form. The lime juice keeps it from turning so dark the next day (or 2-3 days if you are lucky). I get creeped out by dark guac because it tastes stale to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenvoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
The perfect recipe if you're looking for a quick and yummy guacamole. I didn't have much time and don't care for many of the mexican seasonings and this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Instead of sour cream and dry Ranch mix, I just used bottled Ranch dressing. Don't forget to add a few drops of lime juice to the avocado to keep the color bright! Chopped tomatoes and green onion really added to the recipe. Didn't have tortilla chips, so used Town House crackers as dippers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was pretty good for a change of pace. It doesn't really have any "kick" to it so I added some finely chopped onion and tomato, plus a little chili pepper seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rena
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very very "ranchy" - if you like ranch dressing ALOT, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I tried 3 different recipes to see which one I liked the best. This one was really nice. One of the other recipes asked for 7 ingredients. This one was just as good if not better with only 3 incredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States