Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russ Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This recipe was absolutely great!! The only things I modified were I added a little bit more ketchup and a little bit more Worcestershire sauce.(just a little) I am a true chili dog fan and at first, I thought this recipe would not compare to my traditional chili that I make for hot dogs. But now, this is my new recipe! Thanks Grandpa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was really terrific. My family and neighbors say thank's grampa. I made these for the kids at a block party,but the parents ate more then their fare share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
As someone else said, more like sloppy joe mix than chili dog topping. Not crazy about it. Update 2/24/10---Cut it down by 1/4 and made on stovetop to go on hotdogs. Used old fashioned potato masher as meat was browning to get a really fine texture and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is really good. I just threw it together real quick, and served it right away. Kids even liked it. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by needs garlic!!
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
CHANGE NOTHING...ITS WORLD CLASS..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needs garlic!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I make it just as the recipes says and my family LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wonderful!! Just like I remember when I was a kid - just the right flavor!!!!! Will make again!!! Note: I used ground bison instead of ground beef. Also - ***** read some of the other reviews.....this really shouldn't be compared to sloppy joe mix - or chili dogs - this is from the 1950's and it is right on the mark!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe that is sure to please everyone. Brought it to work for a pot-luck hot dog lunch and it was gone in 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is CONEY sauce. Not chili! Ten stars! just upped the ketchup a bit.also try adding dry minced onion instead of fresh. gives it bolder onion flavor.i also reduced vinegar.if you put meat in food processor it makes it more of a classic coney consistency. then to make the flavor really cook together well, i slow cooked in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States