Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
two words : absolutely amazing! My fiance's favorite meal is hot dogs, which to me can get pretty boring but this coney sauce was exactly what I needed to spice things up! In fact, I never craved a hot dog until I made this. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia Detz Parillo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Thanks for sharing! Made the recipe exactly, it was great!!!! No need for modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made this coney sauce per the recipe and I have to say I was kindof dissappointed. I understand that this is not a recipe for hot dog chili, but I still expected it to have some chili-like flavor. The flavor of this sauce was more like sloppy joe filling. This is not a flavor that I normally associate with hot dogs. I think I'm just going to keep looking for a more chili-like recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I followed this recipe as written and I found it to be a bit too sweet. Next time I will cut the sugar in half and add a touch more ketchup. Overall, it's an excellent sauce for hot dogs. Will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Might have been the cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
it was good - but most said it was just like a "sloppy joe"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Me Crazy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Absolutely a fatastic recipe:)) Only thing I changed was used garlic salt for regular salt...I usually have a very picky family but they could not get enough of this one...Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
very nice....smooth, flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Great Coney Sauce! Delicious, easy, no exotic ingredients, and great with hot dogs. It was a hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Great recipe! I upped the ketchup and decreased the mustard. Makes a great coney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States