Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I found this WAY too sweet. Not the coney sauce I am used to. I am used to Flint style coney sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Glasco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I cut this in half. This was great...as a sloppy joe recipe IMHO. :) I just couldn't add this sauce again on a *hot dog*, even though everyone said it was authentic. It was just too sweet. It was even a little too sweet for my taste for a sloppy joe. I will definitely make it again, just serve on hamburger buns (sorry!), and reduce the amount of sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was very tasty! Made according to recipe and it turned out perfect. I used my immersion blender to get it smoother. No, it does NOT taste like chili :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Way too sweet. Followed recipe exactly but during taste testing I found it was not as good as I had hoped. While it was in slow cooker I added dried onion, garlic and some chili powder. Still too sweet!! I added one can undiluted tomato soup and that cut the sweetness nicely. I simmered in crock pot a bit longer and it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Henry King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Being a southern girl, it did not impress my palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This Coney sauce is excellent!! Simple flavors combined very well into a sauce that is sure to be a favorite summer evening tradition.. Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I worked at a root beer stand in the early 70's and know what a coney dog is....this is an excellent recipe. If you taste the sauce it will taste sweet but it is not meant to be eaten alone, once you put it on a salty hot dog it is excellent. Like others I use a grinder for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I admit, I am a hotdog fanatic. This recipe has been in my files waaay too long. I had not separated a 5 lb. package of ground beef and decided to hold onto 2 lbs and not put into the freezer so I could make this recipe last night to go on some grilled hotdogs tonight. Of course, the aroma made me crazy so I nuked a dawg, added this sauce and fell in love with your Grandpa!! This is totally TNT CONEY sauce. Delicious is sooo understated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very Good! Followed the recipe going just a little light on the sugar and vinegar (based on feedback from other reviews) and after browning the meat with the onion I pulsed it through the food processor for a smoother texture. This sauce is great. Brought it to a potluck and everyone loved it. It sorta tastes like a sloppy joe but as another reviewer said somehow just a bit different. Wonderful addition to bring or have at a picnic were hotdogs will be had. Thanks Sean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Fantastic CONEY SAUCE ! Please don't give this recipe a bad review because it isn't chili sauce - read the title first, the word "chili" does not appear in it. Being a kid of the late 50's and 60's, this is absolutely like the Coney Sauce that we loved on the footlongs from our little Mom and Pop diner/drive-in. Make sure you slow cook this for hours either in the crock pot or at low heat on the stove top or tightly coverd in a 250 degree oven. I cut the sugar to a tablespoon and a half since I used honey mustard. Thanks for a trip down Memory Lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States