Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I found this WAY too sweet. Not the coney sauce I am used to. I am used to Flint style coney sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Glasco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I cut this in half. This was great...as a sloppy joe recipe IMHO. :) I just couldn't add this sauce again on a *hot dog*, even though everyone said it was authentic. It was just too sweet. It was even a little too sweet for my taste for a sloppy joe. I will definitely make it again, just serve on hamburger buns (sorry!), and reduce the amount of sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was very tasty! Made according to recipe and it turned out perfect. I used my immersion blender to get it smoother. No, it does NOT taste like chili :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Way too sweet. Followed recipe exactly but during taste testing I found it was not as good as I had hoped. While it was in slow cooker I added dried onion, garlic and some chili powder. Still too sweet!! I added one can undiluted tomato soup and that cut the sweetness nicely. I simmered in crock pot a bit longer and it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Being a southern girl, it did not impress my palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This Coney sauce is excellent!! Simple flavors combined very well into a sauce that is sure to be a favorite summer evening tradition.. Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I worked at a root beer stand in the early 70's and know what a coney dog is....this is an excellent recipe. If you taste the sauce it will taste sweet but it is not meant to be eaten alone, once you put it on a salty hot dog it is excellent. Like others I use a grinder for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I admit, I am a hotdog fanatic. This recipe has been in my files waaay too long. I had not separated a 5 lb. package of ground beef and decided to hold onto 2 lbs and not put into the freezer so I could make this recipe last night to go on some grilled hotdogs tonight. Of course, the aroma made me crazy so I nuked a dawg, added this sauce and fell in love with your Grandpa!! This is totally TNT CONEY sauce. Delicious is sooo understated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very Good! Followed the recipe going just a little light on the sugar and vinegar (based on feedback from other reviews) and after browning the meat with the onion I pulsed it through the food processor for a smoother texture. This sauce is great. Brought it to a potluck and everyone loved it. It sorta tastes like a sloppy joe but as another reviewer said somehow just a bit different. Wonderful addition to bring or have at a picnic were hotdogs will be had. Thanks Sean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Fantastic CONEY SAUCE ! Please don't give this recipe a bad review because it isn't chili sauce - read the title first, the word "chili" does not appear in it. Being a kid of the late 50's and 60's, this is absolutely like the Coney Sauce that we loved on the footlongs from our little Mom and Pop diner/drive-in. Make sure you slow cook this for hours either in the crock pot or at low heat on the stove top or tightly coverd in a 250 degree oven. I cut the sugar to a tablespoon and a half since I used honey mustard. Thanks for a trip down Memory Lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States