Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent sloppy joe recipe, just add green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Sorry to say I made this recipe and didn't like it all. There was a strange taste I think maybe way too mustard or sugar. My family did not like it. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAFTINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Loved this. If you state this is too sweet and you'll never make it again, you are not a good cook. Yes, it was sweet, so, next time add less sugar. It was easy to make and my husband said "this tastes and smells JUST LIKE CONEY SAUCE". This isn't canned Vietta Hot Dog Sauce...this is CONEY SAUCE. I did not use the crock, but simmered it on the stove. We loved it and will be using it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I made this recipe to a T and it was a little too tart for me so I added just a touch more ketchup and sugar. after those small touches it came out great. I didn't have the time for the crock pot so I made it on the stove and simmered for about 45 minutes and it came out great. this will my my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
We are from Texas and thought we might not like this because of some of the comments about the sweetness, but we were very, very pleased with the flavor! It was awesome and so much better than chili on a hot dog because it doesn't make the bun soggy. We liked the flavor better than chili on a dog too. I made the recipe as is, without changing anything. My husband is a self-professed hot dog "aficionado," and he loved this! It was great topped with cheese and some extra onions! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I Absolutely Love this Coney Sauce! I would rate it 15 stars if I could. This is the 3rd time I've made it and my family Loves it! It will definitely become a family tradition. Thanks Grandpa!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This sauce is the BEST EVER did'nt change a thing thank you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I've made this a few times. Put raw hamburger in crockpot and add all ingredients. It will come out perfect without using hand mixer or food processor. Same way i make actual chili. Fry 2 lbs and put in 2 pounds raw. Best of both worlds. Thanks Sean for a great tasting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
AWESOME! No more chili dogs...my family ONLY WANTS CONEYS! Great recipe, great flavor and so very good on hot dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good coney sauce. I added a bit more ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. I also used onion powder and celery salt instead of fresh onion and celery seed. Definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States