Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I have never had the Coney sauce this is being compared to by reviewers, and I am not a hot dog fan. 1 or two a year has always been more than enough for me. I saw this recipe a while back and saved it to make for hubby. I saw the proportions and thought that would be just the right amount for him, and decided I would have leftovers, while he devoured hot dogs and fries. I put it all together just as the recipe stated, using the immersion blender in the crockpot, after adding the drained meat and onions, then the rest of the short list of ingredients, putting it on low, and walking away. I went by it and it smelled so good that I just had to taste it. It is SO good!! I would eat that on hotdogs once or twice a week. I would eat it on cheeseburgers. I would eat it out of a bowl with a spoon! Hubby loves it too, btw. I knew he would. Certainly add hot sauce or chili powder if you want it spicy, but don't be confused, this is nothing like chili, nor does it claim to be! If it's a sloppy joe or chi dog you want, there are great recipes for both on this site. This is really very good, and am so glad I tried it! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Im from the midwest and this was nothing like the coney sauce I am accustomed too! This recipe tasted like Manwich on a hotdog which would be great if that's what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgen66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I only made half a recipe and it was more than enough for 3 people. Once you pulse the meat and onions in a food processor it increases the volume. This recipe was really sweet. I would cut back on the sugar for sure. I was suprised that it wasn't tangier with the vinegar and mustard. I will keep looking for a coney sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We enjoyed this, and it froze well also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made a half recipe (wanted to be conservative just in case) of this yesterday and loved it. Just like the root beer stands. A half recipe was enough for two people and enough leftover for one more meal. Enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made it for my son's birthday party because he wanted hot dogs for dinner, and everyone loved this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking-n-MS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is a homemade recipe for BBQ sauce that's put on hamburger (with onion). Think I'll stick with the chili dogs thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent sloppy joe recipe, just add green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Sorry to say I made this recipe and didn't like it all. There was a strange taste I think maybe way too mustard or sugar. My family did not like it. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAFTINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Loved this. If you state this is too sweet and you'll never make it again, you are not a good cook. Yes, it was sweet, so, next time add less sugar. It was easy to make and my husband said "this tastes and smells JUST LIKE CONEY SAUCE". This isn't canned Vietta Hot Dog Sauce...this is CONEY SAUCE. I did not use the crock, but simmered it on the stove. We loved it and will be using it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States