Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My husband grew up in Michigan. The first stop when visiting was always the local Coney Shop. This recipe nailed it. He absolutely loved them,and so did I. I cut down on the ketchup because it seemed like it would have been too sweet Otherwise, as the recipe is written, deeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is really good but I might cut the sugar a bit next time since I used a number one name brand catsup that is much sweeter than other brands. Good flavor and exactly what I have been looking for! This would be good to freeze and have on hand. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I am so glad i found this recipe. We go every year to a coney place by our house when it opens in the spring. But this year the coneys were not as tasty as years past. I found this recipe and now everyone was happy. I did add a little more Worcester to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Being from the east coast I can appreciate a good coney dog. This recipe is excellent. Definately going to make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Too much vinegar to my taste. If I make again, I'll cut that in half, and then use the stick blender as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I have never had a true Coney Island Dog but this recipe is great! I make enough to make "Sloppy Joes" and use the rest for "Coney Dogs" the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin McNamee Lyle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this exactly as directed except I halved the recipe. It was tangy and really good. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Honestly, I liked it more than my BF did. I gave it a 5 stars, he gave a 3, so I gave it an overall 4. I thought it tasted good, but different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe is bombdiggity! Love love LOVE it. It isn't supposed to be a chili sauce, but a coney sauce. I don't eat bread, but I make this and pour it over hot dogs, top with cheese and onions. sometimes even some sweet relish and extra mustard. Truly love this recipe and make it at least once a month. Makes a great heat and eat lunch for workdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I have never had the Coney sauce this is being compared to by reviewers, and I am not a hot dog fan. 1 or two a year has always been more than enough for me. I saw this recipe a while back and saved it to make for hubby. I saw the proportions and thought that would be just the right amount for him, and decided I would have leftovers, while he devoured hot dogs and fries. I put it all together just as the recipe stated, using the immersion blender in the crockpot, after adding the drained meat and onions, then the rest of the short list of ingredients, putting it on low, and walking away. I went by it and it smelled so good that I just had to taste it. It is SO good!! I would eat that on hotdogs once or twice a week. I would eat it on cheeseburgers. I would eat it out of a bowl with a spoon! Hubby loves it too, btw. I knew he would. Certainly add hot sauce or chili powder if you want it spicy, but don't be confused, this is nothing like chili, nor does it claim to be! If it's a sloppy joe or chi dog you want, there are great recipes for both on this site. This is really very good, and am so glad I tried it! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States