Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I thought this tasted like sloppy joe's and so did my kiddos they were not fond of it. Felt bad but I had to toss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I have never had coney sauce so I have nothing to judge theis against. That being said it tasted almost exactly like the sloppy joe recipe that I use. It wasn't bad but a little sweet for a hot dog to me. Even after loading on the mustard it was still quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
PERFECT! I used turkey (allergic to beef) and used apple cider vinegar and soy sauce. The rest the same! Freeze leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Really good, I will definitely make this again. Also if you don't want to get out your mixer or food processor can get the meat fine if you use a potato masher on it as you're cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
a perfect topping for a hotdog! i added about a tablespoon and a half of sugar instead of two and left out the onions. nice balance of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Perfection!! As said in other postings, it is NOT meant to be a chili sauce. Topped with mustard, ketchup, onions and sauce, can't be beat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helmsof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle Granville, New York, USA
Living In: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was GREAT, it made great CONEYS (which by the way are NOT Chili Dogs)!!! I followed the recipe except for 2 things. I used lean ground turkey instead of the beef (since we did NOT use turkey dogs, needed to cut fat somewhere!) and added 2 or 3 shakes of Lousianna Hot sauce too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Made a few times already. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Not my idea of coney sauce. Was much more like sloppy joe sauce than the coney sauce I'm familiar with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imseansmom
Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Reed City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was not great to me. I was very hopeful based on the reviews but my kids didn't care for it and neither did I. I will not be making this recipe again. I am not sure if it was the celery seed or the mustard but the flavors didn't mesh well for me. I agree with other reviewers in that it tasted very similar to sloppy joes but I just didn't care for this recipe. I made the recipe exactly as written. Thanks anyway, different strokes for different folks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States