Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russ Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
As someone else said, more like sloppy joe mix than chili dog topping. Not crazy about it. Update 2/24/10---Cut it down by 1/4 and made on stovetop to go on hotdogs. Used old fashioned potato masher as meat was browning to get a really fine texture and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wonderful!! Just like I remember when I was a kid - just the right flavor!!!!! Will make again!!! Note: I used ground bison instead of ground beef. Also - ***** read some of the other reviews.....this really shouldn't be compared to sloppy joe mix - or chili dogs - this is from the 1950's and it is right on the mark!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by needs garlic!!
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
CHANGE NOTHING...ITS WORLD CLASS..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needs garlic!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This recipe was absolutely great!! The only things I modified were I added a little bit more ketchup and a little bit more Worcestershire sauce.(just a little) I am a true chili dog fan and at first, I thought this recipe would not compare to my traditional chili that I make for hot dogs. But now, this is my new recipe! Thanks Grandpa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I make it just as the recipes says and my family LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is really good. I just threw it together real quick, and served it right away. Kids even liked it. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was really terrific. My family and neighbors say thank's grampa. I made these for the kids at a block party,but the parents ate more then their fare share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe that is sure to please everyone. Brought it to work for a pot-luck hot dog lunch and it was gone in 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is CONEY sauce. Not chili! Ten stars! just upped the ketchup a bit.also try adding dry minced onion instead of fresh. gives it bolder onion flavor.i also reduced vinegar.if you put meat in food processor it makes it more of a classic coney consistency. then to make the flavor really cook together well, i slow cooked in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States