Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is CONEY sauce. Not chili! Ten stars! just upped the ketchup a bit.also try adding dry minced onion instead of fresh. gives it bolder onion flavor.i also reduced vinegar.if you put meat in food processor it makes it more of a classic coney consistency. then to make the flavor really cook together well, i slow cooked in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This recipe was absolutely great!! The only things I modified were I added a little bit more ketchup and a little bit more Worcestershire sauce.(just a little) I am a true chili dog fan and at first, I thought this recipe would not compare to my traditional chili that I make for hot dogs. But now, this is my new recipe! Thanks Grandpa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Excellent coney sauce. This not a chili dog recipe. There is a difference between a coney and a chili dog. If you want a chili dog, search for a chili dog recipe. I used one of those hand blenders (boat motors) to get the meat fine after I added the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ironchef1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by needs garlic!!
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
CHANGE NOTHING...ITS WORLD CLASS..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needs garlic!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This was so good that my husband couldn't stop and ate 4 coneys! He said it was a little sweet, but really good. My son thought it was really good but different from the chili type sauce he is used to. Both of them have said they want this again. I thought this was almost like sweet tomatoey sloppy joes. I did add water to the beef in the skillet before I cooked it so it would break into fine pieces instead of being chunky when it browned. Thanks for posting this Sean, your Grandpa's sauce is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Wonderful sauce for doggies! I added a wee bit more ketchup and put cooked ground beef and onion in my food processor after browning.....Delightful. I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
My family and my neighbors really enjoyed this recipe. Using one of those hand blenders I followed the suggestion from a previous review. And found that to be so helpful and handy....now I know how Taco Bell's taco meat is always this way. I will totally make this again and now use my hand blender in other uses like this. This gets my 5 star. I didn't change not one thing to this recipe. Everyone had more then one hot dog. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wonderful!! Just like I remember when I was a kid - just the right flavor!!!!! Will make again!!! Note: I used ground bison instead of ground beef. Also - ***** read some of the other reviews.....this really shouldn't be compared to sloppy joe mix - or chili dogs - this is from the 1950's and it is right on the mark!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Made this tonight for dinner and it was really good. I didn't have time to let it slow cook but let it simmer on the stove while I steamed some turkey dogs. Cut the recipe in half and it still came out very good. Not too dry and not too soupy. Next time I will slow cook it and use the immersion blender to get it the right consistency. Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This is a really good chili but not really a chili without chili powder so I added 2 tablespoons of chili powder. Also would add a little more catsup and worcestershire sauce as my chili seemed to need a little more liquid. Overall, this was a very good addition to my Saturday night hot dogs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States