Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Delicious and easy! Almost tastes like a sloppy joe but jthere is definite difference. My daughter who won't touch sloppy joes, whether homemade or store bought, really likes it. I didn't have plain vinegar on hand so I used apple cider vinegar. I halved the recipe since I only had one pound of beef and it was perfect for an 8 count serving of hot dogs nicely stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dew McClurkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is good but it is not what we are used to having on our hotdogs. It is sweet, just so you will know. I followed the directions exactly and found the ground meat crumbled small enough that I did not think it needed to be emulsified as an earlier reviewer mentioned. Overall, I think this could be used as a different version of sloppy joes. There is not a lot of difference to me in sweetness or in texture though I do appreciate GPa sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
My kids LOVED this! I used ground turkey as it was what I had on hand. I will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Kerr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We really enjoy this coney sauce. I have nothing to compare it to, as in one sauce is better than the other, we just know that it's good. After making it a couple times now, I can substitute ground turkey without noticing, cut the sugar back just a touch, add in fresh garlic and I use Beau Monde instead of celery seed. If you do use Beau Monde (which is a snazzy name for celery salt and onion powder), remember to either cut back on the salt you add or eliminate it all together. When I make this, I like to double the ingredients so there's enough for me to freeze for a second or even third or fourth meal. Hot dogs are always on sale during the summer, so this is a good make ahead sauce to thaw for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I halved the recipe and would be plenty for 6 dogs. I followed this recipe to a T but needs some tweaking. The sauce is too sweet for my taste. Going forward, I am going to eliminate the sugar all together. Instead of ketchup, I am going to use tomato sauce. It also needs some sort of spice component. Maybe red pepper flakes, chili powder, or paprika. I also added about 1/2 cup water to the meat while browning to get it fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I thought this tasted like sloppy joe's and so did my kiddos they were not fond of it. Felt bad but I had to toss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I have never had coney sauce so I have nothing to judge theis against. That being said it tasted almost exactly like the sloppy joe recipe that I use. It wasn't bad but a little sweet for a hot dog to me. Even after loading on the mustard it was still quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
PERFECT! I used turkey (allergic to beef) and used apple cider vinegar and soy sauce. The rest the same! Freeze leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Really good, I will definitely make this again. Also if you don't want to get out your mixer or food processor can get the meat fine if you use a potato masher on it as you're cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
a perfect topping for a hotdog! i added about a tablespoon and a half of sugar instead of two and left out the onions. nice balance of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States