Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Really great Coney Sauce. Didn't change anything. Almost a sweet and sour taste to it. Had some left over so I added it to some baked beans. That was great too. Thanks Sean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbyrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenova, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I halved the recipe because we didn't need so much but it was very good. We all liked it and will make it again. I don't know if it tastes like a coney dog (never had one) but it tastes yummy none-the-less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Delicious and easy! Almost tastes like a sloppy joe but jthere is definite difference. My daughter who won't touch sloppy joes, whether homemade or store bought, really likes it. I didn't have plain vinegar on hand so I used apple cider vinegar. I halved the recipe since I only had one pound of beef and it was perfect for an 8 count serving of hot dogs nicely stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dew McClurkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is good but it is not what we are used to having on our hotdogs. It is sweet, just so you will know. I followed the directions exactly and found the ground meat crumbled small enough that I did not think it needed to be emulsified as an earlier reviewer mentioned. Overall, I think this could be used as a different version of sloppy joes. There is not a lot of difference to me in sweetness or in texture though I do appreciate GPa sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
My kids LOVED this! I used ground turkey as it was what I had on hand. I will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Kerr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We really enjoy this coney sauce. I have nothing to compare it to, as in one sauce is better than the other, we just know that it's good. After making it a couple times now, I can substitute ground turkey without noticing, cut the sugar back just a touch, add in fresh garlic and I use Beau Monde instead of celery seed. If you do use Beau Monde (which is a snazzy name for celery salt and onion powder), remember to either cut back on the salt you add or eliminate it all together. When I make this, I like to double the ingredients so there's enough for me to freeze for a second or even third or fourth meal. Hot dogs are always on sale during the summer, so this is a good make ahead sauce to thaw for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I halved the recipe and would be plenty for 6 dogs. I followed this recipe to a T but needs some tweaking. The sauce is too sweet for my taste. Going forward, I am going to eliminate the sugar all together. Instead of ketchup, I am going to use tomato sauce. It also needs some sort of spice component. Maybe red pepper flakes, chili powder, or paprika. I also added about 1/2 cup water to the meat while browning to get it fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I thought this tasted like sloppy joe's and so did my kiddos they were not fond of it. Felt bad but I had to toss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I have never had coney sauce so I have nothing to judge theis against. That being said it tasted almost exactly like the sloppy joe recipe that I use. It wasn't bad but a little sweet for a hot dog to me. Even after loading on the mustard it was still quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
PERFECT! I used turkey (allergic to beef) and used apple cider vinegar and soy sauce. The rest the same! Freeze leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States