Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Im from the midwest and this was nothing like the coney sauce I am accustomed too! This recipe tasted like Manwich on a hotdog which would be great if that's what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgen66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I only made half a recipe and it was more than enough for 3 people. Once you pulse the meat and onions in a food processor it increases the volume. This recipe was really sweet. I would cut back on the sugar for sure. I was suprised that it wasn't tangier with the vinegar and mustard. I will keep looking for a coney sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We enjoyed this, and it froze well also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made a half recipe (wanted to be conservative just in case) of this yesterday and loved it. Just like the root beer stands. A half recipe was enough for two people and enough leftover for one more meal. Enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made it for my son's birthday party because he wanted hot dogs for dinner, and everyone loved this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking-n-MS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is a homemade recipe for BBQ sauce that's put on hamburger (with onion). Think I'll stick with the chili dogs thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent sloppy joe recipe, just add green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Sorry to say I made this recipe and didn't like it all. There was a strange taste I think maybe way too mustard or sugar. My family did not like it. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAFTINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Loved this. If you state this is too sweet and you'll never make it again, you are not a good cook. Yes, it was sweet, so, next time add less sugar. It was easy to make and my husband said "this tastes and smells JUST LIKE CONEY SAUCE". This isn't canned Vietta Hot Dog Sauce...this is CONEY SAUCE. I did not use the crock, but simmered it on the stove. We loved it and will be using it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I made this recipe to a T and it was a little too tart for me so I added just a touch more ketchup and sugar. after those small touches it came out great. I didn't have the time for the crock pot so I made it on the stove and simmered for about 45 minutes and it came out great. this will my my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States