Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I am so glad i found this recipe. We go every year to a coney place by our house when it opens in the spring. But this year the coneys were not as tasty as years past. I found this recipe and now everyone was happy. I did add a little more Worcester to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Being from the east coast I can appreciate a good coney dog. This recipe is excellent. Definately going to make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Too much vinegar to my taste. If I make again, I'll cut that in half, and then use the stick blender as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I have never had a true Coney Island Dog but this recipe is great! I make enough to make "Sloppy Joes" and use the rest for "Coney Dogs" the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin McNamee Lyle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this exactly as directed except I halved the recipe. It was tangy and really good. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Honestly, I liked it more than my BF did. I gave it a 5 stars, he gave a 3, so I gave it an overall 4. I thought it tasted good, but different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe is bombdiggity! Love love LOVE it. It isn't supposed to be a chili sauce, but a coney sauce. I don't eat bread, but I make this and pour it over hot dogs, top with cheese and onions. sometimes even some sweet relish and extra mustard. Truly love this recipe and make it at least once a month. Makes a great heat and eat lunch for workdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I have never had the Coney sauce this is being compared to by reviewers, and I am not a hot dog fan. 1 or two a year has always been more than enough for me. I saw this recipe a while back and saved it to make for hubby. I saw the proportions and thought that would be just the right amount for him, and decided I would have leftovers, while he devoured hot dogs and fries. I put it all together just as the recipe stated, using the immersion blender in the crockpot, after adding the drained meat and onions, then the rest of the short list of ingredients, putting it on low, and walking away. I went by it and it smelled so good that I just had to taste it. It is SO good!! I would eat that on hotdogs once or twice a week. I would eat it on cheeseburgers. I would eat it out of a bowl with a spoon! Hubby loves it too, btw. I knew he would. Certainly add hot sauce or chili powder if you want it spicy, but don't be confused, this is nothing like chili, nor does it claim to be! If it's a sloppy joe or chi dog you want, there are great recipes for both on this site. This is really very good, and am so glad I tried it! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Im from the midwest and this was nothing like the coney sauce I am accustomed too! This recipe tasted like Manwich on a hotdog which would be great if that's what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgen66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I only made half a recipe and it was more than enough for 3 people. Once you pulse the meat and onions in a food processor it increases the volume. This recipe was really sweet. I would cut back on the sugar for sure. I was suprised that it wasn't tangier with the vinegar and mustard. I will keep looking for a coney sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States