Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The only thing I did different, I increased the Wor. sauce to a full tsp, then doubled it. Then at the end, I thought it needed a little kick, and I had this southwestern chipotle sauce of some sort, so I added a little of that. It was really very good. I dont know that I have had a coney dog before, only chili dogs, and since we were swimming at the redneck beach, I thought it would be a nice touch :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Fantastic! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Excellent. Tastes like sloppy Joe mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I followed recipe exactly so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I fixed this for a pool party a week ago and it was the BOMB!!!!!!!. I did however add about 2 tablespoons of chili powder. People were eating it by itself. I will def, make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by medicque

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
two words : absolutely amazing! My fiance's favorite meal is hot dogs, which to me can get pretty boring but this coney sauce was exactly what I needed to spice things up! In fact, I never craved a hot dog until I made this. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia Detz Parillo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Thanks for sharing! Made the recipe exactly, it was great!!!! No need for modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made this coney sauce per the recipe and I have to say I was kindof dissappointed. I understand that this is not a recipe for hot dog chili, but I still expected it to have some chili-like flavor. The flavor of this sauce was more like sloppy joe filling. This is not a flavor that I normally associate with hot dogs. I think I'm just going to keep looking for a more chili-like recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I followed this recipe as written and I found it to be a bit too sweet. Next time I will cut the sugar in half and add a touch more ketchup. Overall, it's an excellent sauce for hot dogs. Will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States