Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
If you like sweet meat sauce then this is for you. I do not like the sweet flavor my self. Fl. Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
DELICIOUS! I scaled the recipe back to use onlt 3/4 pound of meat b/c that's all I had and that was plenty for us. After cooking/draining the meat and onion mixture, I finely ground it in my food processor. I then proceeded w/ the recipe, only allowing it to simmer on the stove instead of the slow cooker, until I felt it was done. I would like to try it in the slow cooker sometime, I just didn't have time. I think while this did rival sloppy joe to an extent, it was just different enough, and we LOVED it on our hot dogs! NOTE: I actually made this last week when I had to use the meat and froze it until I needed it...worked perfectly! I will def make this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I'm from the West Coast so I have never had a coney dog before. My dad always wanted to open a store but never did. In reading online it seems like it's just supposed to be heaven but I have to be honest, I'm living in Mexico and I really want to open a hot dog restaurant here with a sauce like coney sauce but in reading the reviews it seems like everyone likes this sauce but unfortunately it doesn't do it for me. I followed the recipe exact by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
eh....too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
excellent recipe i wouldnt change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is not at all what I think a coney sauce should taste like. It is more like a sweet ketchup with beef. I had to triple the mustard and add chili powder just to more it closer to coney sauce. Big disappointment for the Super Bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
We LOVE this on hot dogs! After browning my beef, I used my immersion blender to grind it fine. I used a bit less vinegar and sugar and a bit more catsup than called for (just because it looked like it need more "sauce"). This will definitely be my "go to" for hot dogs! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
made this for my husband, he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Outstanding-and I didnt have to change a thing! I made this one night for dinner and my kids and hubby were hooked! Great recipe for parties or just for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States