Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I worked at a root beer stand in the early 70's and know what a coney dog is....this is an excellent recipe. If you taste the sauce it will taste sweet but it is not meant to be eaten alone, once you put it on a salty hot dog it is excellent. Like others I use a grinder for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I admit, I am a hotdog fanatic. This recipe has been in my files waaay too long. I had not separated a 5 lb. package of ground beef and decided to hold onto 2 lbs and not put into the freezer so I could make this recipe last night to go on some grilled hotdogs tonight. Of course, the aroma made me crazy so I nuked a dawg, added this sauce and fell in love with your Grandpa!! This is totally TNT CONEY sauce. Delicious is sooo understated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very Good! Followed the recipe going just a little light on the sugar and vinegar (based on feedback from other reviews) and after browning the meat with the onion I pulsed it through the food processor for a smoother texture. This sauce is great. Brought it to a potluck and everyone loved it. It sorta tastes like a sloppy joe but as another reviewer said somehow just a bit different. Wonderful addition to bring or have at a picnic were hotdogs will be had. Thanks Sean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Fantastic CONEY SAUCE ! Please don't give this recipe a bad review because it isn't chili sauce - read the title first, the word "chili" does not appear in it. Being a kid of the late 50's and 60's, this is absolutely like the Coney Sauce that we loved on the footlongs from our little Mom and Pop diner/drive-in. Make sure you slow cook this for hours either in the crock pot or at low heat on the stove top or tightly coverd in a 250 degree oven. I cut the sugar to a tablespoon and a half since I used honey mustard. Thanks for a trip down Memory Lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
If you like sweet meat sauce then this is for you. I do not like the sweet flavor my self. Fl. Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
DELICIOUS! I scaled the recipe back to use onlt 3/4 pound of meat b/c that's all I had and that was plenty for us. After cooking/draining the meat and onion mixture, I finely ground it in my food processor. I then proceeded w/ the recipe, only allowing it to simmer on the stove instead of the slow cooker, until I felt it was done. I would like to try it in the slow cooker sometime, I just didn't have time. I think while this did rival sloppy joe to an extent, it was just different enough, and we LOVED it on our hot dogs! NOTE: I actually made this last week when I had to use the meat and froze it until I needed it...worked perfectly! I will def make this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I'm from the West Coast so I have never had a coney dog before. My dad always wanted to open a store but never did. In reading online it seems like it's just supposed to be heaven but I have to be honest, I'm living in Mexico and I really want to open a hot dog restaurant here with a sauce like coney sauce but in reading the reviews it seems like everyone likes this sauce but unfortunately it doesn't do it for me. I followed the recipe exact by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
eh....too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
excellent recipe i wouldnt change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is not at all what I think a coney sauce should taste like. It is more like a sweet ketchup with beef. I had to triple the mustard and add chili powder just to more it closer to coney sauce. Big disappointment for the Super Bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States