Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I've made this a few times. Put raw hamburger in crockpot and add all ingredients. It will come out perfect without using hand mixer or food processor. Same way i make actual chili. Fry 2 lbs and put in 2 pounds raw. Best of both worlds. Thanks Sean for a great tasting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
AWESOME! No more chili dogs...my family ONLY WANTS CONEYS! Great recipe, great flavor and so very good on hot dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good coney sauce. I added a bit more ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. I also used onion powder and celery salt instead of fresh onion and celery seed. Definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I really liked this. I use it everytime we have hot dogs. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I was expecting more of a liquidy sauce...is that a coney dog or chili dog, i don't know. This isn't bad, but reminds me of sloppy joes. Oh well, at least I now know the meat-in-the-food-processor trick I'll use for several recipes in the future, like spaghetti sauce, sausage gravy, etc. I'll keep looking for the perfect sauce in the meantime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This game out AMAZING! I was looking for something to practice on making for an upcoming Brooklyn event. I'm so glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is THE sauce!! Made it as written and it came out wonderful. The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tena75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woolwich, Maine, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I don't know what a coney sauce should taste like, but I'm glad it isn't chili. Kinda tired of chili recently... Personally, I find the sauce a little too sweet, but I'm making it for a potluck. I must warn people that this isn't chili dog though. Will update with responses if I hear any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I have nothing to compare this to, but a far off memory of the sauce our high school band boosters used during football games back in Ohio. I loved their sauce and I loved Grandpa's sauce, too. But let me pile on to what others have said before me. This is a sweet sauce with a little zing. If that sounds "gross" to you, don't make this recipe. This is NOT a chili dog sauce. Looking for a chili taste? Find a chili-based recipe. And don't ever trust one that has ketchup as an ingredient! LOL I think of this as a fancy high-grade, meat-infused, sweet ketchup hotdog sauce. I, too, made a half batch. Because my slow cooker was too big for 1 lb of meat, I put it in a small covered casserole and baked it for 4-5 hours on 200.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Sorry Grandpa this was way to sweet for me:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States