Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
AWESOME! No more chili dogs...my family ONLY WANTS CONEYS! Great recipe, great flavor and so very good on hot dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good coney sauce. I added a bit more ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. I also used onion powder and celery salt instead of fresh onion and celery seed. Definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I really liked this. I use it everytime we have hot dogs. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I was expecting more of a liquidy sauce...is that a coney dog or chili dog, i don't know. This isn't bad, but reminds me of sloppy joes. Oh well, at least I now know the meat-in-the-food-processor trick I'll use for several recipes in the future, like spaghetti sauce, sausage gravy, etc. I'll keep looking for the perfect sauce in the meantime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This game out AMAZING! I was looking for something to practice on making for an upcoming Brooklyn event. I'm so glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is THE sauce!! Made it as written and it came out wonderful. The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tena75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woolwich, Maine, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I don't know what a coney sauce should taste like, but I'm glad it isn't chili. Kinda tired of chili recently... Personally, I find the sauce a little too sweet, but I'm making it for a potluck. I must warn people that this isn't chili dog though. Will update with responses if I hear any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I have nothing to compare this to, but a far off memory of the sauce our high school band boosters used during football games back in Ohio. I loved their sauce and I loved Grandpa's sauce, too. But let me pile on to what others have said before me. This is a sweet sauce with a little zing. If that sounds "gross" to you, don't make this recipe. This is NOT a chili dog sauce. Looking for a chili taste? Find a chili-based recipe. And don't ever trust one that has ketchup as an ingredient! LOL I think of this as a fancy high-grade, meat-infused, sweet ketchup hotdog sauce. I, too, made a half batch. Because my slow cooker was too big for 1 lb of meat, I put it in a small covered casserole and baked it for 4-5 hours on 200.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Sorry Grandpa this was way to sweet for me:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Very good! The whole family devoured this, expecially my husband, which gives it an instant 5 stars. I didn't slow cook it and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States