Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made a half recipe (wanted to be conservative just in case) of this yesterday and loved it. Just like the root beer stands. A half recipe was enough for two people and enough leftover for one more meal. Enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made it for my son's birthday party because he wanted hot dogs for dinner, and everyone loved this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking-n-MS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is a homemade recipe for BBQ sauce that's put on hamburger (with onion). Think I'll stick with the chili dogs thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent sloppy joe recipe, just add green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Sorry to say I made this recipe and didn't like it all. There was a strange taste I think maybe way too mustard or sugar. My family did not like it. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAFTINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Loved this. If you state this is too sweet and you'll never make it again, you are not a good cook. Yes, it was sweet, so, next time add less sugar. It was easy to make and my husband said "this tastes and smells JUST LIKE CONEY SAUCE". This isn't canned Vietta Hot Dog Sauce...this is CONEY SAUCE. I did not use the crock, but simmered it on the stove. We loved it and will be using it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I made this recipe to a T and it was a little too tart for me so I added just a touch more ketchup and sugar. after those small touches it came out great. I didn't have the time for the crock pot so I made it on the stove and simmered for about 45 minutes and it came out great. this will my my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
We are from Texas and thought we might not like this because of some of the comments about the sweetness, but we were very, very pleased with the flavor! It was awesome and so much better than chili on a hot dog because it doesn't make the bun soggy. We liked the flavor better than chili on a dog too. I made the recipe as is, without changing anything. My husband is a self-professed hot dog "aficionado," and he loved this! It was great topped with cheese and some extra onions! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This sauce is the BEST EVER did'nt change a thing thank you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I've made this a few times. Put raw hamburger in crockpot and add all ingredients. It will come out perfect without using hand mixer or food processor. Same way i make actual chili. Fry 2 lbs and put in 2 pounds raw. Best of both worlds. Thanks Sean for a great tasting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States