Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Have never had a coney before, enjoyed very much. Followed the recipe measurements to a T and put in the crockpot for almost 7 hours (little longer than I intended, but we had a fun day at the zoo!). DBF said they tasted ok too, he grew up eating them in MI...DS was not a fan but he does not really like hot dogs. Crock potting for so long pretty much made the onions disappear and my burger was in pretty fine chunks so it was a nice smooth sauce. I had to add some Dijon to mine because otherwise it's not a hot dog to me. Yum, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Really good! I've always bought the can chili for chili dogs but wanted to try something different. This was very good! Kinda sweet and hubby said it would be good as sloppy joes too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My husband grew up in Michigan. The first stop when visiting was always the local Coney Shop. This recipe nailed it. He absolutely loved them,and so did I. I cut down on the ketchup because it seemed like it would have been too sweet Otherwise, as the recipe is written, deeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is really good but I might cut the sugar a bit next time since I used a number one name brand catsup that is much sweeter than other brands. Good flavor and exactly what I have been looking for! This would be good to freeze and have on hand. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I am so glad i found this recipe. We go every year to a coney place by our house when it opens in the spring. But this year the coneys were not as tasty as years past. I found this recipe and now everyone was happy. I did add a little more Worcester to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Being from the east coast I can appreciate a good coney dog. This recipe is excellent. Definately going to make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Too much vinegar to my taste. If I make again, I'll cut that in half, and then use the stick blender as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I have never had a true Coney Island Dog but this recipe is great! I make enough to make "Sloppy Joes" and use the rest for "Coney Dogs" the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin McNamee Lyle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this exactly as directed except I halved the recipe. It was tangy and really good. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States