Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made this last night and I have to say-it's delicious. It's sweet but has a nice tang to it. Very easy to make. I put it in my little slow cooker-added about 1/4 cup of water and just let it go for about 4 hours-it was awesome. Your grandfather did a great job with this sauce. Thanks Sean for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJILL11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I tripled this recipe for a crowd, but did not triple the sugar! It still tasted too sweet for my liking and I did not get any rave reviews from my guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for! I used cider vinegar instead of white, and kept everything else the same-- except cooked it pretty quick and it was still perfect! Reminds me of the coneys I had growing up. So much better than chili-dog sauce (which is about all there is where I live now).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
EXACTLY!!!!!! what I was hoping for when i found this. Reminded me of the Drive-in in my hometown when I was growing up....second time i made it I did double the recipe and add just a little more ketchup and did not double the vinegar( personal preference) Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for posting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Shuee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe is better than most I've tried, but I still don't think it's it. I might give it one more try since I let it simmer on the stove rather than all day in the crockpot. Almost, but not quite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Great recipe !! A hit everytime, THANKS so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was pretty good & I did use it as a sloppy joe sauce also. It just wasn't exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
tasted like ketchuo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I had never made coney sauce before and i'm glad that I picked this recipe for my first try. So easy to make and I loved being able to throw everything in my crockpot to simmer. The sauce was great on my hotdogs! In fact, I could have just eaten the sauce by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States