Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was okay, there was a little too much vinegar in the taste. My family has been using this recipe for years, except this is our recipe for sloppy joes! Tasted quite different on a hot dog...but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I wasn't too sure about this but it turned out FANTASTIC!! Everyone loved it (we had a cookout with the neighbors). The only change I made brought the ketchup up to about 1 3/4 cups because as 1 1/2 cups the sauce was a bit "mustardy" for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEVYAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I halved the recipe because i was only cooking for three and let it simmer for about three hours. will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Photo by mssyann8
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I wish I had more stars to give!!!! THIS IS AMAZING!!! I seriously have never had a hotdog like this before.. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssyann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I thought this recipe was awesome. I had a craving for a coney dog and this hit the spot. Thanks Grandpa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigglebox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Made this for a cookout/potluck - it was a HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made this last night and I have to say-it's delicious. It's sweet but has a nice tang to it. Very easy to make. I put it in my little slow cooker-added about 1/4 cup of water and just let it go for about 4 hours-it was awesome. Your grandfather did a great job with this sauce. Thanks Sean for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJILL11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I tripled this recipe for a crowd, but did not triple the sugar! It still tasted too sweet for my liking and I did not get any rave reviews from my guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for! I used cider vinegar instead of white, and kept everything else the same-- except cooked it pretty quick and it was still perfect! Reminds me of the coneys I had growing up. So much better than chili-dog sauce (which is about all there is where I live now).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States