Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
With a few tweeks I could give it 5 stars. It was a little too sweet. I changed the servings to 6. And, to satisfy kids, I opted out of the onions. Here are my changes: Cut the sugar in 1/2, 1 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp celery salt, no table salt added, and chopped fine with my Ninja. With these changes, it was awesome! It reminds me of the hot dog chili from the Bantam Chef in Walhalla, SC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WalkerC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Thank you for this great recipe! I did cut in half and I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cumin. The cumin seem to give it that real "Coney Dog" taste. These were fantastic! I was going to A&W, but decided to make my own. It saved me a lot of money and tastes so much better! Bye Bye A&W!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is the best coney sauce ever! Made it by the recipe, only cut it in half. This WILL be my "go to" hot dog sauce from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I have made this exact recipe before and it is to die for! I used to work at a drive-in here in Indiana a few years back and this tastes just like their coney sauce! People would pay big bucks to get their sauce premade in a bag to take home and cook. I am a very picky eater and this is the only recipe I will ever use. I will take the suggestion of another reviewer and use my food processor to cut the ground beef finer after it is browned. Thank you so much! This recipe I will hold on to for life. I think my boyfriend will stick around for good too because he LOVES this recipe lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Timmons Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockwell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
WOW!!! I love this Coney sauce. I made it yesterday for dinner I did do a few things different first I didn't have time to put it in a slow cooker and let it simmer for a few hours so I just left it in the pan and let it simmer for like 45 mins. ( I really wish it would have gotten to simmer longer in a slow cooker I know it would have tasted even better that way). Second I added more ketchup and I also added some garlic powder. I will make this from now on instead of buying the can of hot dog sauce from the stores. The only thing I plan to do different next time is grind the hamburger up finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I wasn't sure what to expect with this recipe, but I was pleasantly surprised. I made this exactly as directed. I did find it to be a bit too sweet, so next time I will just leave out the sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I always assumed that a Coney Island Hot Dog was just another name for a Chili Dog....until I read this recipe! I think I like these BETTER than Chili Dogs! I halved the recipe and cooked it only about a half hour, but I will definitely plan on making it again in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Let me start with .... I am not a huge fan of ground beef but my hubby is. I made these for the NBA finals game and they were a huge hit. I did use premium hot dogs (Hebrew National jumbo franks) and home made Honey wheat buns. These were great. Hubby will be requesting these again and again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was okay, there was a little too much vinegar in the taste. My family has been using this recipe for years, except this is our recipe for sloppy joes! Tasted quite different on a hot dog...but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I wasn't too sure about this but it turned out FANTASTIC!! Everyone loved it (we had a cookout with the neighbors). The only change I made brought the ketchup up to about 1 3/4 cups because as 1 1/2 cups the sauce was a bit "mustardy" for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEVYAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States