Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Excellent sauce to add to hot dogs or burgers. I added a dash of Frank's Red Hot sauce to give it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Bee-Ba

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Outstanding. I went to get the bowl to bring home what was left and it was scraped clean from todays family outing. The family thought these 80's folks had all the answers. As someone suggested I did add (2) tablespoons of water to the hamburger to help break up the lumps. It worked perfectly. You can't beat the 'old folks'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg n Harold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I thought this tasted like sloppy joes. Everyone else liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
So yummy! Between me, my mom and my boyfriend 16 hotdogs were inhaled in two days. Thank you we love this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Detroit was my home during the 90's and I loved living there. Politics aside, the coneys from that area are awesome. As did some of the other reviewers, I felt this was just a tad sweet for me. But something about it conjured up Motown memories, and also made me reflect on the family picnics we used to have when I was a lad, when Ma would make a pot of sloppy joes. This recipe reminds me of that. I served this up today on some Hebrew National all beef weenies. It complimented them very well. I topped them off with some good ole Wisconsin cheddar from the heart of the Badger state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
With a few tweeks I could give it 5 stars. It was a little too sweet. I changed the servings to 6. And, to satisfy kids, I opted out of the onions. Here are my changes: Cut the sugar in 1/2, 1 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp celery salt, no table salt added, and chopped fine with my Ninja. With these changes, it was awesome! It reminds me of the hot dog chili from the Bantam Chef in Walhalla, SC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WalkerC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Thank you for this great recipe! I did cut in half and I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cumin. The cumin seem to give it that real "Coney Dog" taste. These were fantastic! I was going to A&W, but decided to make my own. It saved me a lot of money and tastes so much better! Bye Bye A&W!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is the best coney sauce ever! Made it by the recipe, only cut it in half. This WILL be my "go to" hot dog sauce from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I have made this exact recipe before and it is to die for! I used to work at a drive-in here in Indiana a few years back and this tastes just like their coney sauce! People would pay big bucks to get their sauce premade in a bag to take home and cook. I am a very picky eater and this is the only recipe I will ever use. I will take the suggestion of another reviewer and use my food processor to cut the ground beef finer after it is browned. Thank you so much! This recipe I will hold on to for life. I think my boyfriend will stick around for good too because he LOVES this recipe lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Timmons Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockwell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States