Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is tasty but not what i'm looking for. To me the flavor of ketchup , vinegar and sugar is overwhelming. I'm looking for something not so rich, more of a spicy meaty flavor, but don't really have any suggestions to make it. It would be browner in color, not so red, and perhaps much drier. Guess I'm just too use to our local upstate NY hot dog sensation for several years from New Way Lunch or nicknamed, "Dirty John's Hot Dogs " or as the youner generation labeled it, "Dirt Dogs". They are great and people send for these all over the country.Try one if you ever are in our area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Love it, Love it, Love it! Hubby makes happy noises when I tell him I'm making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Never had anything but chili on top of a hot dog before - this was phenomenal! I halved the recipe; only changes I made were I didn't have enough ketchup, so I made my own up with a can of tomato paste, some vinegar, water, a little sugar, and some onion powder to taste. It ended up being a little more "ketchup" than the receipe called for. I also mixed about 1/4 cup of barbecue sauce in, and put in an extra 1/4 tsp of worcerstershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This recipe is perfect just as it is! Makes a wonderful coney dog, just like the drive-in. My whole family loved it as I made it for a family birthday party. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is THE coney dog sauce, seek no further. I put the dogs in the slow cooker with the sauce. Big hit with my 3rd grader and his friends. Side of root beer never hurts either ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was o.k. , I am not sure if I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
WONDERFUL!! Just the way it suppose to be. Chanfge nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was a little too sweet and a little too mustardy for our tastes, easily tweaked next time! I also won't grind the meat as fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made this for my mother-in-law whose sisters and her are '50's Drive-In experts, and they loved it! They kept comparing it to their fav Drive-Ins' Coney Sauce. Now they're begging for the recipe! 1st time my bro-in-law complimented my cooking! Thanks for making me a star at my in-laws gathering! Great sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Awesome. So, so good. I grew up in Southeast Michigan and am now living in Tennessee. Around here, when a place advertises "Coney-dogs", they are usually selling chili dogs, and I've missed my hometown favorites. This sauce took me home. We ate coney dogs for a week and I can't wait to make another batch. The only thing I did different was use a stick blender to smooth out the sauce. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arasmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States