Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Perfection!! As said in other postings, it is NOT meant to be a chili sauce. Topped with mustard, ketchup, onions and sauce, can't be beat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helmsof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle Granville, New York, USA
Living In: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was GREAT, it made great CONEYS (which by the way are NOT Chili Dogs)!!! I followed the recipe except for 2 things. I used lean ground turkey instead of the beef (since we did NOT use turkey dogs, needed to cut fat somewhere!) and added 2 or 3 shakes of Lousianna Hot sauce too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Made a few times already. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Not my idea of coney sauce. Was much more like sloppy joe sauce than the coney sauce I'm familiar with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imseansmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was not great to me. I was very hopeful based on the reviews but my kids didn't care for it and neither did I. I will not be making this recipe again. I am not sure if it was the celery seed or the mustard but the flavors didn't mesh well for me. I agree with other reviewers in that it tasted very similar to sloppy joes but I just didn't care for this recipe. I made the recipe exactly as written. Thanks anyway, different strokes for different folks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Good Coney sauce. The celery seed definitely gives a different odd flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon D 36

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Pretty good.... Although I generally have more time to cook on weekends, I didn't have the energy for anything but being a couch potato today (it's been a "too long" week). Because this took minimal time to throw together and happily cooked away in my slow cooker, I'm awarding 4 stars. Because I prefer a straight up traditional chili dog (this was a tad too tangy for me / my hubby's liking), I'd personally only award 3. I have never had the "real" thing before, and therefore have nothing to base my comparison on. Having said this, I do think Grandpa's secret recipe reminds me of sloppy joe mix. I'm sure this is 100% authentic, but for those of us who have not had the opportunity to taste the real deal, this is the closest thing to compare to (IMHO). NOTE: You MUST finely grind your beef to acheive a true "coney-style" consistency (thank you Internet!). You can use a food processor, standard blender or hand-held immersiion blender to do this (I used my fp). Just brown your beef / onion, drain and pulse slightly. Another way to get this fine texture is to boil your meat, (I've never tried this method, and therefore can't attest to whether it really works or not...). Served garnished with shredded cheddar and chopped red onion, these weren't bad at all. I'm just not sure they're worth making again. Thanks anyways, Sean! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
WHO Boy, this stuff is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
pureed the meat with small amount of chicken soup stock, added chili powder and paprika to taste and small amount of parm cheese and a bay leaf. Cooked 3hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBASHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
First time I have ever made coney sauce to put on hot dogs, my family LOVED this and fought over the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States