Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Would not fix again. Tasted like sweet sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy DeLaet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
The Coney's were tasty, but we prefer chili dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I've never had Coney sauce, but I made this tonight and I'll tell you this much I'm going to make it again and again. I loved it. Starting with our first summer backyard picnic for 50 guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Delish! A winner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I found this recipe several years back on this site. I will tell you, it is the best coney sauce. Period. When we cook out in the summer and have friends over, there is never any left. It gets devoured. Do not change a thing with this recipe. Perfect as is. Reminds me of the old drive in when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I leave out the sugar ...too sweet. add a teaspoon of hot sauce. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Martino

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My family loves this so much! All I change is I add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
excellent, made just as written. Would also be good as a sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've never had a coney dog but love chili dogs & even tho this was different it was really a great topper. I made a half batch on the stove top then put it into a slow cooker & after cooking on high about an hour I used a hand blender to make it as puréed as possible. Even tho it looked done I wanted to keep it warm so I set it on low but after an hour of that it dried it out. Next time I'm just going to cook it on the stove top then maybe simmer it for half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwrightwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States