Grandpa's Beef, Mushroom, and Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was the best recipe I've been looking for. Made a wonderful Hearty soup and using a Bottom Round Beef Roast, we had wonderful tender beef for slicing into sandwiches. Flavor was great, simply beef, barley & mushrooms. Followed recipe, but didn't need canned broth or additional vegetables. Just serve with pickles or marinated veggies as a side We all love it! No need to search any further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I thought it was a really good soup but I added additional mushrooms and spices. I think that next time I will add some other veggies also. I will Definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was dissapointed with the recipe. I guess I'm not a big fan of that much dill. If I try it again it will be without it. I also used fresh mushrooms and pre-cut stew meat and put in a crockpot for the day. The meat was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wolpert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was not a hit in my family. Nobody wanted seconds and I ended up freezing the leftovers. I will have to try a different beef barley soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very tasty! Just the thing for a cold Midwestern night! The next time I make it I will follow the suggestion of some of the other reviewers and use fresh rather than dried mushrooms and I'll also increase the amount of barley, 'cause I just love it in soup. Might toss a leek or two in next time too. But otherwise I thought it was great. I was worried that the spare seasonings would make for a very bland soup, but the richness added by the long cooking time - and I kept the pot simmering for 6 hours - compensated. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The whole family asked for seconds! Very good! I didn't have time to soak my barley, and when the meat was done the soup was thick, like oatmeal. So, I added some extra broth. You may want to have some extra broth on hand, also. I used 8 oz of fresh mushrooms - could have used a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
The guys loved this rich hearty soup and my husband's friends even (a first!) asked for the recipe. I used already cut up stew meat instead of chuck roast, fresh mushrooms instead of dried, and farro (much like barley) instead of barley. I made the substitutions because that's what I had on hand - I was looking for a recipe to use the mushrooms and beef I already had. Glad I found this :) I boiled the stew meat and skimmed off the foam as directed. After skimming, I added the farro (barley) and cooked it with the beef (no pre-soaking) at a slow boil for about 20 minutes until al dente. I then added the quartered mushrooms and seasonings to the pot and reduced to a simmer. I cooked until the meat was very tender in about 2 1/2 hrs. It was very filling with some nice rustic crusty bread. Also ridiculously easy using meat already cut up and quick cooking barley. I only needed to chop the mushrooms and herbs and cooked everything in one pot so cleanup was a snap too. A winner at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the1kengray
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I used fresh Portobello mushrooms and diced leeks and it turned out thick, beefy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the1kengray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I found some chinese dried mushrooms, and I wish I had used regular, fresh , white mushrooms. They were all Icould find in the way of dried mushrooms. I did not care for their smell or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was the best! I love barley and found quick cooking barley. I used stew meat that I cut into smaller pieces. Also, had fresh mushrooms YUMMIE. My husband ate 4 bowls in one sitting---and he's not ususally a "soup guy". My new favorite soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DensHag

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States