Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I've made this many times and it's delicious. Great both with raisins and without. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that I added salt, per everyone's recommendations (plus, I checked some of my cookbooks, and they all called for salt). But this was wonderful...and great for breakfast, toasted with a little honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Sorry , but I had high hopes for this. My husband can't understand why I keep trying Irish soda bread with our corned beef and cabbage because he thinks it is not good. Unfortunately, this recipe didn't do the trick either. I found it dry and tasteless. I didn't cook it for more than 35 minuets but it was hard and SO HEAVEY. I'll keep looking for a recipie that we both like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I just noticed this recipe contains no baking powder, as well as no salt. I collect Irish Soda Bread recipes and every one I have adds baking powder as well as baking soda. I made it as written and used butter and ate with more butter and orange marmalade. My husband said "Good soda bread," will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Great bread. Easy and Quick. I dusted the finished loaf with powder sugar and found this a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I'm rating this one high, because it made me a great loaf of tasty soda bread, with NO SALT. Only 2 T. sugar for the entire loaf is a plus, and the bread was still sweet. I liked the level, but may try my next loaf at half the sugar, just to sample it. EASY recipe, great for when you're out of yeast. This density on this makes for good sandwich bread, toast or even french toast bread. (I didn't have raisins on hand- just left them out and had regular bread.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Tastes pretty good. It didn't rise either time I made it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Loved this - baked it in a 8" cake pan. I added another tablespoon sugar since my husband likes things on the sweet side. Brushed the top with a little melted butter and buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Ok. I panicked after placing my bread in the oven and scrolling through the "add salt" reviews. I had noted them prior to preparing this and completely forgot. I literally sprinkled a minescule pinch over the top. Not sure if it made a difference.... Just pulled it from the oven rubbed it with an 1/8 tbsp. Of butter and tap. Of raw honey. Bravo! I will make this all year round. So easy. So incredibly delicious. I didn't know i like Irish soda bread until today. HAPPY ST. PATRICK'S DAY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Delicious!!!!!! Made this recipe and LOVED IT!!!! I've had many irish soda breads and this one is the best. I did listen to the viewers and added 1/2 tsp of salt,but I also sifted the flour,baking soda,sugar and salt. So it would be lighter.( I hate it when the bread comes out heavy). I mixed everything in the bowl, didn't even touch my counter. DO Not over mix. Once it came together I put it on a cookie sheet, sprayed with baking spray. Left it out for 5 minutes at room temp. covered with a clean dish cloth. I brushed the top with butter and sprinkled granulated sugar.Half the bread was gone in 5 minutes. I guess I'm going to make another one for St. Patty's Day....lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States