Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is the most like the recipe I used to have and lost. I've been making it for the past 3 or 4 years and it's delicious! Just make sure you eat it while it is still warm...that's when it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Made this to go with dinner tonight. Smelled so good I took a piece. It's great wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for this recipe. Kids just got home from school gave them a piece. They hated the raisens. Oh well. I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wayland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is the first time I have made or had Irish Soda Bread. From what I have heard this recipe is pretty accurate to taste, texture, and ingredients. I really liked it, followed the recipe and not reviewer recommendations but eyeballed the amount of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rVaughn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We all loved this bread. It is a great base recipe for those who prefer additional ingredients. We thought this was great just as it is, but I may play with it on occassion for variety as I plan on making this very often. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I thought this was a good, easy receipe. I used the ingredients as stated and it turned out fine. I saw no need for salt as another reviewer suggested. It is supposed to be a flat, solid bread. It tasted great for the type of bread it is and I was looking for a traditional type Irish Soada bread for St. Patrick's day that was easy and this fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe was extremely easy, but pretty bland. This was my first time making Irish soda bread, so I don't know what it traditionally tastes like, but I sure wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Thanks for sharing this recipe! Dried red currants and golden raisins were reconstituted in hot water for 20-30 minutes, drained well, added to the flour mix, and the flavoured water reserved to adjust the consistency of the dough, as needed. Next loaf will include toasted and finely chopped hazelnuts. Thanks again for the share, Grandad McAndrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This bread turned out great- heavy and dense the way its supposed to be. I added a cup of golden raisins and 1/2 tsp. of salt. If you don't have buttermilk, you can substitute. Use a one cup measure, add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or winegar, fill with milk and let stand for 5 minutes. I had to have a slice while it was still warm with melting butter. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have used chopped walnuts instead and sometimes with, the raisins (great way to get rid of the old snack packs from kid's lunches)... it always turns out just what I wanted in a heavier soda bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuldaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I think I might have done something wrong cause it turned out to flat. I'll have to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States