Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was my first attempt to make Irish Soda Bread.... I was making my annual St Patty's Day dinner for my family and was going to pick some up from the grocery bakery.... but I saw this recipe and just had to try it!! I thought well I make my corn bread in the cast iron pot so why not this!! This was absolutely delicious!!!! I had everything but the buttermilk but replaced it with evap milk and the bread just came out fine. Like others have stated I added the raisins and a tad of salt and a little extra sugar. It was perfect. It's also a good recipe I think that u could experiment with. Next time I make this I WILL use the buttermilk and maybe more or different fruits. Yes I also agree it tastes the best with butter on it when warm... but u could always warm it up in your microwave. My husband and son enjoyed this. I will make again and probably for next St Patty's day too. PS it made a nice size loaf which we ate over half of it last night with dinner. I just had another piece this morning with a little butter for a snack. Really delish! Thanx so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. I add more fruit than just raisins. I use green raisins, dried blueberries, dried cranberries, dried strawberries, and dried raspberries. (I re-hyrdrate mine in a little water first before combining them with the other ingredients so that they are a little softer and cook more fluidly. Moreover, I combine them with the buttermilk, egg, and butter before combining with the dry ingredients.) I also add a little salt. The other reviews are right that a little salt goes a LONG way in this recipe. Lastly, after the bread has cooked for 40 minutes, I quickly melt butter and baste it on top of the bread and cook it for the last 5 minutes that way. It gives the crust a nice crisp texture and golden glow. It's amazing. The other thing I would point out is that because this bread is so heavy and thick, I find it cooks better between 42 and 48 minutes... sometimes 50 (i've made this in multiple kitchens). Know your oven! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicago girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is my first experience with Irish soda bread, and thanks to this recipe, it was a very good one! This bread has a very simple, but delicious flavor. Very soft and moist on the inside with a wonderful crunchy crust. I followed the recipe exactly, other than leaving out the raisins since I don't like them, and served with a little butter melted on the bread. Great recipe, will definitely make this again next St. Patrick's Day and probably even once or twice before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Wow! This bread is awesome! (As I am eating a piece right now...) I had to use the buttermilk substitute (lemon juice and milk) but other than that I followed directions exactly. This is definitely going to be a regular ,\menu item in my house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is the most like the recipe I used to have and lost. I've been making it for the past 3 or 4 years and it's delicious! Just make sure you eat it while it is still warm...that's when it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Made this to go with dinner tonight. Smelled so good I took a piece. It's great wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for this recipe. Kids just got home from school gave them a piece. They hated the raisens. Oh well. I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is the first time I have made or had Irish Soda Bread. From what I have heard this recipe is pretty accurate to taste, texture, and ingredients. I really liked it, followed the recipe and not reviewer recommendations but eyeballed the amount of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rVaughn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We all loved this bread. It is a great base recipe for those who prefer additional ingredients. We thought this was great just as it is, but I may play with it on occassion for variety as I plan on making this very often. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I thought this was a good, easy receipe. I used the ingredients as stated and it turned out fine. I saw no need for salt as another reviewer suggested. It is supposed to be a flat, solid bread. It tasted great for the type of bread it is and I was looking for a traditional type Irish Soada bread for St. Patrick's day that was easy and this fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States