Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I followed this recipe almost to the letter (plus the 1/2 t salt recommended by someone and using both currants and raisins) and it was just blah. I'm not sure why people have liked this so much - heavy and tasteless. It's edible with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
My first problem was that I seemed to have about a full cup too much flour. Maybe I messed that up somehow, I sometimes amaze myself. I used Craisins instead of raisins, which I liked. I also added salt, as suggested. And instead of using buttermilk, I chose plain greek yogurt, which I'm guessing is why my dough was too dry. I managed to salvage most of the dough, and I really enjoyed what remained. I liked my mediocre version enough to try it once more, with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by br00kli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My husband made this for our weekend get together with friends, left out the rasins in order not to mess with the flavor of the Irish Stew. Everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I used 1 cup of plain yogurt in place of the buttermilk. This recipe is very, very tasty. It's the one I will use all the time now. We go through the whole loaf in one meal every time. Thanks for capturing the ingredients for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I made this for the first time this St. Patrick's Day and it was great. It was easy to make and tasted delicious. The only thing is I needed about 1/2 cup more flour than directed. The dough was much too runny to try to knead, but after adding more flour, it was perfect. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Neither I nor hubs had ever tried Irish Soda Bread until now, nor have I ever made it. Now that we have, we differ in our opinions. I thought it heavy, with a dense crumb and flat taste, which didn't appeal to me. In addition, I noticed the recipe lacked salt. I meant to add some but forgot, and its absence was noticeable to me. I think it would have definitely heightened the flavor. Certainly no fault of the recipe, but I now know I'm not a huge fan of Irish Soda Bread, although it did make a pretty loaf. On the other hand, hubs said he didn't miss the salt, and loved the different texture of the bread. He also liked the slight tang and sweetness. He said Grandpa McAndrew had a darn fine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was my first attempt to make Irish Soda Bread.... I was making my annual St Patty's Day dinner for my family and was going to pick some up from the grocery bakery.... but I saw this recipe and just had to try it!! I thought well I make my corn bread in the cast iron pot so why not this!! This was absolutely delicious!!!! I had everything but the buttermilk but replaced it with evap milk and the bread just came out fine. Like others have stated I added the raisins and a tad of salt and a little extra sugar. It was perfect. It's also a good recipe I think that u could experiment with. Next time I make this I WILL use the buttermilk and maybe more or different fruits. Yes I also agree it tastes the best with butter on it when warm... but u could always warm it up in your microwave. My husband and son enjoyed this. I will make again and probably for next St Patty's day too. PS it made a nice size loaf which we ate over half of it last night with dinner. I just had another piece this morning with a little butter for a snack. Really delish! Thanx so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. I add more fruit than just raisins. I use green raisins, dried blueberries, dried cranberries, dried strawberries, and dried raspberries. (I re-hyrdrate mine in a little water first before combining them with the other ingredients so that they are a little softer and cook more fluidly. Moreover, I combine them with the buttermilk, egg, and butter before combining with the dry ingredients.) I also add a little salt. The other reviews are right that a little salt goes a LONG way in this recipe. Lastly, after the bread has cooked for 40 minutes, I quickly melt butter and baste it on top of the bread and cook it for the last 5 minutes that way. It gives the crust a nice crisp texture and golden glow. It's amazing. The other thing I would point out is that because this bread is so heavy and thick, I find it cooks better between 42 and 48 minutes... sometimes 50 (i've made this in multiple kitchens). Know your oven! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicago girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is my first experience with Irish soda bread, and thanks to this recipe, it was a very good one! This bread has a very simple, but delicious flavor. Very soft and moist on the inside with a wonderful crunchy crust. I followed the recipe exactly, other than leaving out the raisins since I don't like them, and served with a little butter melted on the bread. Great recipe, will definitely make this again next St. Patrick's Day and probably even once or twice before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States