Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made this today with Irish Stew, and the whole family thought it was delicious. Now, I've never had Irish Soda Bread before so I cannot say if it turned out like it was supposed to. :) But, I can say that I made two -- the first one I used entirely all-purpose flour with the raisins, and the second one, I used 2 cups all-purpose, 1/2 cup barley flour, and 1/2 cup fresh ground wheat flour, and no raisins. Eight children and my husband all loved it -- some liked the one with the raisins, and of course, those who don't like raisins liked the other. I did add the 1/2 tsp salt as other reviewers suggested. Lots of smiles at the dinner table and no leftovers tonight - and that's what's important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanch, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My favorite soda bread recipe that I've tried so far! I think I might add a pinch of salt the next time I bake it, but I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
It does look really dry when it comes out of the oven but tastes pretty good with butter and jam. It's a bit bland but for the simplicity, I am giving it 4 stars. I added more sugar because I like my breakfast bread a little sweet and next time, I am adding more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Did not add the raisins - I don't remember soda bread having raisins so I omitted them. Made 3 loaves - one for my office, one for hubby's and one for home. All were gone within 2 days! Really really good for soaking up some Irish Stew!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Great, easy recipe. Used dried cranberries instead of raisins. Use an 8 inch or 9 inch cast iron skillet. Brushed with melted butter just out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Not a fan. It came out very gooey and bland. I did add the 1/2 tsp of salt and topped with butter as recommended by other reviews. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
what a wonderful recipe! next time i will add a little salt, besides that i wouldnt change a thing. thank you grandpa mcandrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
great bread recommend cooking alittle longer than an hr if cooking in loaf pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mairin gonzales

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Thought this was a great recipe. A few tweeks I did was doubled the sugar, 3/4t.salt, 1/2c. walnuts, 1/2c. Craisins. Even my grandson liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States