Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I make this every St. Patrick's Day and my family loves it! No changes required; perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mauston, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I love this bread! I left out the raisins and added two tablespoons of honey. My kids love it and they don't like anything! Way better than any other recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. The only addition I made was to coat the top with butter and buttermilk and cut the customary X in the center. Otherwise, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewlywedCook10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Made this for St. Patty's day for both mine and boyfriend's works. After reading prior reviews I also added some salt. Still a little bland, so I think next time I'll add some spices for the heck of it. Other then that, really easy and came out decent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used what I had on hand. Instead of buttermilk I used Chobani Honey Yogurt along with milk to make one cup and added juice of 1/2 lemon to that. I also used 1/2 tsp salt (as someone recommended). The dough was quite dry but working it well help it to adhere. Baked in a small round oven safe dish (sprayed with Pam) cut a large X on top before putting into oven. Brushed with melted butter and milk and baked according to directions. My son commented on how good it was and I thought it was wonderful!! A little bland, but with butter it was great! Would do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToniC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Simple and excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I was so looking forward to this recipe because it had raisins. I made no substitutions except to put water on my hands to knead it because it was so dry it would not adhere together. My husband said it needed baking powder also. He made two of the other Irish soda breads and they were fab. I will try this again using some of the suggestions, but I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Well, Grandpa McAndrew must've been one heck of a guy, because this is one heck of a good Irish Soda Bread! I do however think that when "Mom" was copying down the recipe she did forget to add the salt...a little bit is all you need. I chose to add 1/2 tsp. I like my soda breads a little sweeter, so I doubled the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup. After I formed the bread I lightly scored it and brushed it with an egg wash. I popped it the oven on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and baked it at 375 for about 45 minutes. This is a great recipe for traditional Irish soda bread - perfect warm with butter served with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I just made this recipe today and it is not bad, though I do agree with what someone else said about it needing some salt. Plus I found it to be a bit dry. I did make one change and that was I put it in a bread pan instead of a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made this today with Irish Stew, and the whole family thought it was delicious. Now, I've never had Irish Soda Bread before so I cannot say if it turned out like it was supposed to. :) But, I can say that I made two -- the first one I used entirely all-purpose flour with the raisins, and the second one, I used 2 cups all-purpose, 1/2 cup barley flour, and 1/2 cup fresh ground wheat flour, and no raisins. Eight children and my husband all loved it -- some liked the one with the raisins, and of course, those who don't like raisins liked the other. I did add the 1/2 tsp salt as other reviewers suggested. Lots of smiles at the dinner table and no leftovers tonight - and that's what's important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanch, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States