Grandpa Hubbard's Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This was a yummy oatmeal! Very creamy and smooth. Next time I will add less vanilla creamer and more milk, as it was a touch too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is the best oatmeal I have ever had! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Great, easy, and filling breakfast! The recipe doesn't say if you use liquid or powder creamer. We always have French Vanilla liquid creamer on hand so that's what I used. It didn't need the full 1/4 cup creamer or the milk. I'll probably only do 1/8 cup liquid creamer next time because the flavored creamer made it a lot sweeter! Then I can add the Tbsp of milk also and not have it too runny. It's very easy to scale for larger or smaller servings and tastes excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very good. My kids ate seconds even. I used about 1/2 cup of powdered dairy creamer and 3/4 cup milk and added cinnamon and raisins and a touch more brown sugar and butter to the whole pot instead of doing it to portions and it tasted great. Creamy & flavorful. Thanks so much for this easily adaptable recipe. This would be great with any fruit. Updates: I used strawberries for a a strawberries and cream taste and it was delicious as well. I have used frozen mixed berries with great success as well. When I do not have the dairy creamer I have substituted using Milk or even powdered milk. This is the creamiest tasting oatmeal. I really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was very good and put shame to those quick packets of "oatmeal". I halved the recipe. After the oats had cooked it was a little more watery than I thought it should be. I removed the oatmeal with a slotted spoon to the bowl. I only added a small amount of the brown sugar so I could taste for sweetness. The non-dairy creamer really scared me. My family doesn't drink coffee but my parents do. When they came to visit they had recently brought fat-free Coffee Mate French Vanilla non-dairy creamer. I decided to use a small amount of the coffee mate powder with half n half. I loved the outcome of this oatmeal! It was smooth and creamy. This will become a regular breakfast dish for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Simple and yummy. For the creamer, I did half milk, and half 1/2 n 1/2. I also didn't need the extra brown sugar on top, so I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Very good, but a little bland - I added chopped apples, raisins, and a little cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenNortheast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
My toddler loved this oatmeal, and ate a huge bowl of it this morning! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I'll definetely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Great oatmeal, i don't know why i never tried to make oatmeal by scratch before...i've always relied on the instant kind which doesn't give half of the flavor and texture of this stuff. If you're looking for a quicker and less messy way to cook the oats, put the oats and water in the microwave for 5 min at medium heat, and then finish them off w/the butter etc. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I wanted to make less servings, so I kinda played around with the ingredient amounts. It's very easy to change to taste. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States