Grandpa Hubbard's Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very good oatmeal recipe. You can certainly tweak it to make it as thick or thin as you like. I have never put butter in mine before. Trying this was new for me even though I've been eating oatmeal for 30 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great oatmeal recipe. I make it quite thick & then add yogurt on top, rhubarb flavor if I can find it, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
What exactly is non- dairy creamer? Is it powdered skim milk or soy milk from a packet? We are in Australia and I have not seen this in the shops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We are supposed to think that is is a recipe for OATMEAL? I agree with isafakir, if you need a recipe to make oatmeal it is bad news!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Remember to SOAK OATS OVERNIGHT. Not only does it make it digestible, they make them taste better/creamier too. Quick Oats have already been soaked overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
For at least 50 years, I have been eating oatmeal like this, especially in the winter. I make the oatmeal according to the directions on the box and add a large dolop of butter/margarine and a really big tablespoon of brown sugar. I like my milk in a glass instead of on my oatmeal. It will warm you up on a cold winter day. I now make it for my grandkids when they are here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My mother made these for us when we were young and I'm an older woman now.They were/are delicious. It helps to warm the potatoes in the microwave before using this recipe. Lukewarm will do, and as some suggested, a little flour does wonders holding it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Actually made this with no changes, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
didn't really care for it not a lot of flavor and i added craisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very good & easy. Do add cinnamon & a touch of vanilla. Since my dad & husband like different consistencies, serve the milk/cream on the side & let them finish it to their taste. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States