Grandpa Crotts BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This was the first bbq sauce I was anle to make WITHOUT having to buy special ingredents. It was very simple a really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I was looking for something super easy, that I could make with stuff that I had on hand. This fit the bill, and was super good too!!! Quick, easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I wanted to make oven baked BBQ chicken, and my husband hates store-bought BBQ sauce. I coated the chicken with this recipe, and he ate it up! It was good before I put in on the chicken, but seemed to taste even better once it was baked for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I thought this tasted too much like ketchup and not bbq sauce. I ended up adding liquid smoke, molasses, steak sauce, and whisky in order to save the batch. It wasn't too bad after that, but I definately won't use this reciepe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very easy recipe to prepare. We used this over pulled pork tonight. This recipe is on the tart side, not sweet at all since there is no brown sugar, honey or molasses in it. We liked it and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Was looking for a BBQ recipe,Grilled chicken legs,made this sauce,i used Dijon Mustard by Muselle (coarse grain) minused the hot sauce. was finger liking good! will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodpecker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I typed in quick and easy BBQ sauce to make pulled pork sandwiches with leftover pork loin. I chose this recipe because my husband much prefers sour to sweet. I added 1/4 cup vinegar and changed nothing else. We couldn't wait to eat as the aroma while simmering was fabulous! So easy and all ingredients on hand. I will never buy store bought sauce again. Thanks Grandpa Crotts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letsmakeup

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Tried it and sed it as a base and added to it. Molasses, more worcestershire sauce and some brown sugar and some jameson whiskey- it doesn't have a full bodied flavor and could use some smoke flavor but once I doctored it up it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchter_Face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Sorry, just not up to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe was a bit too tart for me as it stands. I added about 5 tbsp. brown sugar and 2 tbsp. molasses. Wasn't bad with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States