Grandpa Crotts BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This was the first bbq sauce I was anle to make WITHOUT having to buy special ingredents. It was very simple a really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
My husband isn't a huge fan of bbq sauce, but was very impressed with this. Worked perfect in our "chicken" (morningstar farms strips) bbq salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I was looking for something super easy, that I could make with stuff that I had on hand. This fit the bill, and was super good too!!! Quick, easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I thought this tasted too much like ketchup and not bbq sauce. I ended up adding liquid smoke, molasses, steak sauce, and whisky in order to save the batch. It wasn't too bad after that, but I definately won't use this reciepe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I wanted to make oven baked BBQ chicken, and my husband hates store-bought BBQ sauce. I coated the chicken with this recipe, and he ate it up! It was good before I put in on the chicken, but seemed to taste even better once it was baked for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
GOOD SAUCE! I PUT IT ON MY LONDON BROIL AND BAKE IT IN THE OVEN. IT WAS REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe was a bit too tart for me as it stands. I added about 5 tbsp. brown sugar and 2 tbsp. molasses. Wasn't bad with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Sorry, just not up to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I typed in quick and easy BBQ sauce to make pulled pork sandwiches with leftover pork loin. I chose this recipe because my husband much prefers sour to sweet. I added 1/4 cup vinegar and changed nothing else. We couldn't wait to eat as the aroma while simmering was fabulous! So easy and all ingredients on hand. I will never buy store bought sauce again. Thanks Grandpa Crotts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Was looking for a BBQ recipe,Grilled chicken legs,made this sauce,i used Dijon Mustard by Muselle (coarse grain) minused the hot sauce. was finger liking good! will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodpecker

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States