Grandmother's Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Everyone loved this. As suggested I decreased the amount of suger to 1 1/2 cups. I also added 2 liters of Gingerale. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This is definately a keeper! We tried this for a shower at work and it was a hit. I couldn't get enough of it. I took someone's advice and added just a little more ginger ale to make it go further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Punch was very sweet yet we all loved it. Next time I will use 1/2 the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
We used this recipe for our school's "Secret Santa" treats. The kids and the parents both were regularly coming back for seconds! I used a frozen strawberry concentrate (usually for mixed drinks) and a two cups of canned pineapple juice instead of the frozen pineapple concentrate. I left off the sliced oranges, but the punch still made a pretty presentation and was delicious. It was easy to prepare ahead of time by mixing all of the ingredients except the sherbert and ginger ale in a large pitcher. I made a double batch with the intention of having some later for my own family, but they ended up using it all at the festival!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I made this punch for my Thanksgiving gathering. It was a HUGE hit!! I used 1/2 raspberry sherbet. I couldn't fit all the sherbet into the punch bowl, but it didn't taste like it was lacking. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Thanks Angie for a superb recipe! Like the others I made a few changes; used sweetened strawberry koolaid, 3/4 cup sugar, 2 liter ginger ale, 1/2 of the 1/2 gallon sherbert. I had to mix this in a big pot first, it would not all fit in my punch bowl. Everyone loved it! I had 16 adults and it made plenty for everyone. The color of the punch was gorgeous too! I shared my recipe with many that night! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I made this for a client luncheon at work and it was a hit! The goal was a non-alcholic alternative to sangria because the event was fiesta-themed. Based on many people commenting that it was too sweet, I cut out all the sugar and used enough sweeted kool-aid for 3 quarts even though I added the full 4 quarts of water. I also floated sliced strawberries in the punch bowl and only added 5-6 large scoops of sherbet rather than the whole box. Everyone LOVED it! Most guests went back for seconds and one guy had 4 glasses of it. I plan to use it for home entertaining sometime soon and I will also add rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I made this sweet baby for my girlfriends famly. Everyone loved it. I only used one cup of sugar however. I also used orange vanilla sherbert. It really came out great and I was the beverage hero of the evening. I think my girlfriend (Grace) would have married me that Thanksgiving day due to the quality of that punch I made. THANKS GRANDMA'S PUNCH, YOU ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
A good punch but we ended up adding more ginger ale to compensate for the sweetness. Definitely not as much sugar next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Lovely for a shower! Big hit, but too sweet, despite being watered down a bit too! Yummy Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon-Strawberry Punch

See how to make a fizzy, refreshing, alcohol-free punch.

Cranberry Punch

See how to make a bright, tangy refresher for summer or the holidays.

Black Halloween Punch

Cast a deliciously dark pall over your Halloween punch bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States