Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was exactly what I was looking for. This is real pound cake. I ate almost half of it within the first 12 hours, so I won't be getting on a scale anytime soon. The only changes I made where adding 2 tsp vanilla and used heavy cream instead of milk. I also baked it in a 10 inch bundt pan, which was a little to small and a little of the batter ended up on the bottom of the oven. It took about 7 0 minutes to bake. This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENISE13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This was really good! I made it exactly as the recipe stated. I mixed the butter and sugar for 10 min. until it turned creamy and white just like others recommended. I made strawberry shortcake with it by topping it with sliced strawberries mixed with sugar and homemade whipped cream. I got compliments from all my dinner guests on the crispy outside of the pound cake. They especially loved that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I am so happy to find a traditional pound cake recipe. Its so perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Absolutley the best. First time for reciepe and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Was excited yet nervous about trying this recipe, pound cake is one of my favorites but haven't been able to have since becoming gluten sensitive. Most gluten free flour mixed just don't match up in texture to regular flour. However, have begun using "Cup4Cup" brand gluten-free flour. Reduced this recipe by half so that if it didn't work well I wouldn't have wasted the full amount of ingredients. Well that was a mistake! This recipe is absolutely outstanding. I was stunned that the flavor and texture were perfect. Honey & Sister were also amazed at how good it was. Will be making this as often as my diet will allow but will make a full recipe. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Oh my....this is so good...the only thing I added was a dry box of cheesecake pudding....it did take longer then 70 minutes, I just put a piece of foil on top when it started getting brown....my husband has been looking for a recipe just like his grandmas....he said this is it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I've made this cake twice and both times it's been the best! So dense, and full of buttery flavor. You cannot go wrong with this one, everybody will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
VERY BUTTERY. I've had real pound cakes that are sweeter. But this recipe was good. Make a sweet whip to go with it. Just keep in mind, if you don't like butter, don't bake this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
i liked it but i also need info to down size the recipe. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
As it's just hubby and I (and I only had 2 eggs), I cut this down to a "1/3 Pound Cake" (10 servings) in one loaf pan, and it turned out great! Followed the recipe exactly, but pulled out of the oven at 60 minutes, because the edges were getting pretty dark. I let it cool in the pan on the counter probably another 20 before cutting it. So fluffy but moist and beautifully dense, as I think pound cake should be. I would love to make this in bundt shape sometime, but this is definitely going to be the recipe I keep going back to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States