Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
As it's just hubby and I (and I only had 2 eggs), I cut this down to a "1/3 Pound Cake" (10 servings) in one loaf pan, and it turned out great! Followed the recipe exactly, but pulled out of the oven at 60 minutes, because the edges were getting pretty dark. I let it cool in the pan on the counter probably another 20 before cutting it. So fluffy but moist and beautifully dense, as I think pound cake should be. I would love to make this in bundt shape sometime, but this is definitely going to be the recipe I keep going back to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I was curious if this recipe would work as I have read both good and bad, but I can tell you it definitely does! So light, fluffy, and just yummy! I made a few changes...I only had one 8 x 8 pan so I cut the recipe in half and just made one square pan, baked at same temp for same amount of time. I also added a teaspoon of Vanilla to the batter and some chopped up pineapple bits just cause I had them and it turned out amazing!! Give it a try for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lvn5e
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this recipe with soy milk, soy margerine and spelt flour. It came out nicely moist (did not take as long to bake as expected) and crusty on the outside. I would halve the sugar next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. The only thing I added to it was some vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made this cake last night (had a sweet tooth) This has got to be the best butter/pound cake recipe I have ever found. I messed up by using too small of a pan (so be sure to use a bigger pan) which resulted in the cake falling in the center and my having to cook it longer to compensate for my error. I too cooked the cake at 325* and added an extra few minutes to the time to get the result I wanted. Even with all of my mistakes the cake was unbelievably wonderful. It is worth all and all in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time and came out perfect! Very easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This cake is great. I have made it several times. The first time I followed the recipe, except using a bundt pan because this is what I had. It is excellent! Next time added a teaspoon of homemade vanilla extract - even more yummy. Last time, 1 teaspoon of lemon extract and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract - so good. However, this cake is perfect with just the recipe as stated! Classic flavor that you can adjust as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wow, this was great! I baked at 325 since I used dark pans and they were done in 45-50 minutes. Nice light texture but dense at the same time-different than any store bought cake I have ever tried. this is going to be my standard cake recipe for the trifles I like to make. I did add 2 tsp of my homemade vanilla since I love the flavor it gives. I was very careful about the mixing after I added the flour since so many seemed to have problems. The batter was very light and pretty much stayed where it poured so needed to be flattened a bit. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is perfect! I've been looking for pound cake that tastes like what my mom used to make. I did add one tsp. almond extract. My husband loves it warm with raspberry jam. So easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynthia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this out of curiosity as I really wondered how it would turn out without any baking powder. I followed directions exactly as laid out and got the most beautiful results. My Nigerian grandmother made cakes like this,with delectable flavor,rich texture and thoroughly moist. I added orange zest (as Mama would have done for its incomparable flavor profile) to subsequent cakes but it's really fantastic as is. I do mine in Bundt pans and bake for 25 minutes then tent with foil and bake for 10 minutes more. This is super easy and a great cake to whip up for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States