Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is a great pound cake recipe!!! You have to remember, since there is no leavening in a traditional pound cake, YOU (the baker) have to provide the leavening by creaming the ingredients appropriately and beating each egg in one by one. Doing this incorporates air into the batter, which is what helps the eggs to their job in leavening. Cream the butter and sugar for a minimum of 5 minutes, if not longer. It should increase in volume and turn white and fluffy, looking a lot like whipped heavy cream. Beat each egg in for about a minute before adding another egg (yes, watch the clock...a minute can be longer than you think!). I added a dash of salt because I didn't use salted butter (there is a dairy allergy in the house so I used shortening instead of butter), added a Tbsp of vanilla extract, and I used rice milk in place of dairy milk (again, the dairy allergy thing). Perfect!!! Good, old fashioned pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made it twice so far. Very easy and good. Put a sugar glaze on mine. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
wow!! so good! the only thing I changed was I put lemon zest, lemon juice, from one lemon and Vanilla, a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This cake is absolutely delicious and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Psyar
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe!!!!! Since all ovens are different, mine required to add 15 more minutes to the total time suggested on the original recipe! Came out perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Wow!!! This was amazing. I cut the recipe in half and added 2 1/2 tbsp of vanilla extract. Can't wait to let everyone try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
So easy to make! I used a bundt pan, added two tablespoon of vanilla and let cook for 1hr 45min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Sorry, but I really have to question the one-star reviews; maybe they were just expecting something different? Because honestly, I think you'd have to try to mess up this recipe. I actually only made this cake so that I could take pictures of it for a project, so I wasn't terribly invested in the end product- in fact, I only chose pound cake because it required the fewest ingredients and, therefore, no grocery run. I cut the recipe down to one third, I rounded measurements, and my rarely-used loaf pan turned out to be bigger than I thought, so I ended up with an odd, flat loaf. My butter and eggs were cold, and I probably could have beaten everything a litte more thoroughly. The point? This cake is STILL pretty darn good. Would I bring it to a party? Probably not, but it won't last long around my husband and me. And considering how I tortured it, imagine how good it would be done right. For what it's worth, I did add a tablespoon of vanilla, and took it out after 40 minutes because my single, squashed little loaf was looking a bit brown around the edges - probably would've been perfect at around 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious!! I only added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract, changed the recipe to 15 servings and baked it in a loaf pan for 75 minutes. It was so good! Next time I will add 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Lovely cake. For those who thought it was fluffy for a pound cake, try omitting the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States