Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This recipe is so delicious & very easy to make. I even added about 1TBsp of Vanilla Extract to this recipe. I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Even with the tooth pick coming out clean, it was under baked when cut into. It tastes fine (though not like pound cake which I'm usually a fan of) but is structurally a mess. It's the first thing that hasn't come out good in maybe a dozen years or more. It has the exact structural issue as the first cake I ever baked without supervision (6th grade maybe?) Again, the mess up is probably my fault, but then again, it's not easy baking a new recipe while making dinner and holding my baby all at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I was looking for a great pound cake recipe and came across this recipe it is fabulous! My client loved it so much that she has ordered another one for Christmas! Thanks to the person who submitted this recipe. Even after overcooking the first one and burning the top part it was still fabulous. 12/23/14! I just made this cake again for the same customer, this time, I used lemon extract! OMG it was better than the first. This will be my favorite pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamikka Claybrook
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I added about a tsp bourbon vanilla and dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grandma GG
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Oh this is the best cake! Perfect for gift giving too. I added a few things to make it original. I added 1 tsp salt, 1 Tblsp lemon extract, 2 Tblsp vanilla extract, & 1 tsp coconut extract. If I had almond extract on hand I would have added 1 tsp almond extract. BAKING change too. Grease Bundy pan with Crisco butter & flour lightly. Set Oven temp 325 degrees bake cake for 90 minutes(1&1/2 hrs.) To not burn cake & soon as it cones out the oven place serving plate on top of bundt pan & flip it as it slides right out of cake. Easy cleanup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I love this - and use it all the time. It is especially great for a fondant covered cake because it is nice and dense, and tastes great after freezing and thawing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Scaled it down for 10 servings, but still delicious! Great texture, moist, and soft with a nice outter crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This cake was a complete failure. I followed the other reviewers suggestions. It was very bland, no sweetness to it at all.this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I love this recipe! It's not dry like most pound cake I tasted, it's light, fluffy, but still crisp on the outside. I added a teaspoon of baking powder and added a little bit of vanilla just to kick it. And it was wonderful. I'll try to make it again without any modification next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferdynand Antonius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made this cake today for the first time. It is amazing! We will try it tomorrow with strawberries (some with balsamic vinegar)and whipped cream. I made 2/3 of a batter and put it in my bundt pan. Cooked at 350 for 45 min. Perfect. I followed as written except used heavy cream since I was out of milk. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States