Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Wonderful!!!! Makes alot! Only things I changed was adding vanilla extract, only used 3 sticks of butter and the containers I baked it in. It made 2 9x5 loaf pans, and two trays of mini muffins and added chocolate chips(which my kids LOVED to snatch!) The mini muffins baked less then 20 min. and my loaf pans were only about 50 min. I took the 9x5 loaf pans and cut them into bites sized cubes, layered with vanilla pudding and strawberries and it made a wonderful dessert! Passed the recipe on and got rave reviews all around! Someone even baked with blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
AMAZING CAKE! I added 1.5 tbsp of Vanilla for my Hubbys birthday cake, filled it with whipped cream and it is absolutly amazing! will be making it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Easy to make, yields a large amount good for parties! :] Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Apparently some folks don't know what a pound cake is, and this is it. It's exactly what my grandmother's was like and it's fabulous. Watch the cook time right at the end. The edges may burn quickly at the end. I'm so glad to find a real pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I thought it was great -- I used vanilla & almond extract -- The 1 start people may have over mixed it once the dry stuff is added. Rubber consistancy when baking is usually over mixing!! Pound cake is made with 1 lb of butter/sugar/flour -- that's how its name
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Brangaccio Marks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I reduced this recipe for 10 servings and found it a bit small but terriffic. I added 1 tsp of vanilla, just right. One of the best pound cakes I have ever made. I would add 1 TBSP of vanilla to the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! My family members all loved it! I did add in a tablespoon of vanilla into the batter but otherwise I left it exactly the same. I managed to make to make 1 loaf, 12 cupcakes and a square sheet cake with this one recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I added 3 cups of raisins to this and it is the best I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savanahsirval

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Easy and delicious. My husband wanted pound cake to take out in the boat while fishing. We made several different recipes and this was by far the favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Made the pound cake for my mother's birthday and it was a huge hit. I love it, too! I also added 2 tsp of vanilla and approx. 1 TBSP of lemon rind. Next time a will also a tsp of mace. But it was very tasting and moist. My husband who doesn't like a lot a sweets loved this recipe. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States