Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Thank you for this wonderful, classic recipe! I have actually used your recipe a handful of times over the past year. I usually add mini chocolate chips to ours, and I'll mix up the pan sizes depending on what we're in the mood for. The last batch made one standard loaf, two mini loaves, and a dozen mini muffins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Unbelievably simple to prepare. I added a teaspoon or so of homemade vanilla extract. The batter was surprisingly light and fluffy and very tasty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
A good and simple recipe that filled our desire to have strawberry shortcake one night. Simple to follow directions and the cakes themselves turned out how we expected them to look/feel. We thought it tasted a little too much like sugar and butter without any other complex flavors. But served with fresh strawberries and whipped cream - it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
sooo good! I made this as a Christmas gift for relatives (along with honey butter). Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
so yummy! don't overcook this! i actually wished i had cooked it for less time so that it would have been even more moist. so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Simple, moist, delicious, economical. YUMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very delicious and traditional pound cake. Be careful not to overcook, check every few minutes after specified time. I topped it with a lemon glaze, and it was very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strattc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was really yummy! I scaled it down to make just one loaf and it turned out great. The only change I made was to add a pinch of salt (I used unsalted butter) and 1/4 tsp almond extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. It turned out really dense and yummy, and the crusty top and sides were my favorite part! Oh, I also subbed almond milk for the regular milk. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Great pound cake. It was a little heavy and the next time I will halve all the ingredients so that I dont end up with 3 pound cakes. I think that I will also sift the flour. That may be the reason it was a little heavy. I also used my mixer to make this but the last step to mix flour and milk in I will forego the mixer and go with hand stirring. Hopefully this will lighten the cake some. I added coconut flavor to one cake almond to another and vanilla to the last. they were all just YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I use cake flour instead of AP. This basic pound cake recipe is a great basic so that you can add whatever flavor extract you want. I've added sweet dough flavor, and I also made a caramel cake using vanilla butternut flavor. Both came out great. I baked the cakes in regular cake pans because I wanted to slice and decorate. The cake was very sturdy. I did bake it at 340 for 40 min. And let cool in the cake pans for about 15 min. before removing. Turned out great. Will never use another pound cake recipe but this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States