Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
so yummy! don't overcook this! i actually wished i had cooked it for less time so that it would have been even more moist. so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Simple, moist, delicious, economical. YUMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very delicious and traditional pound cake. Be careful not to overcook, check every few minutes after specified time. I topped it with a lemon glaze, and it was very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strattc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was really yummy! I scaled it down to make just one loaf and it turned out great. The only change I made was to add a pinch of salt (I used unsalted butter) and 1/4 tsp almond extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. It turned out really dense and yummy, and the crusty top and sides were my favorite part! Oh, I also subbed almond milk for the regular milk. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Great pound cake. It was a little heavy and the next time I will halve all the ingredients so that I dont end up with 3 pound cakes. I think that I will also sift the flour. That may be the reason it was a little heavy. I also used my mixer to make this but the last step to mix flour and milk in I will forego the mixer and go with hand stirring. Hopefully this will lighten the cake some. I added coconut flavor to one cake almond to another and vanilla to the last. they were all just YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I use cake flour instead of AP. This basic pound cake recipe is a great basic so that you can add whatever flavor extract you want. I've added sweet dough flavor, and I also made a caramel cake using vanilla butternut flavor. Both came out great. I baked the cakes in regular cake pans because I wanted to slice and decorate. The cake was very sturdy. I did bake it at 340 for 40 min. And let cool in the cake pans for about 15 min. before removing. Turned out great. Will never use another pound cake recipe but this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This pound cake is wonderful! The only change I made was by adding 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. The only problem was that I ate 1/2 a loaf in one day!!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe is fabulous, If you end up with a breadlike cake its because you blended the flour too much, you might want to try 1/2 AP Flour and 1/2 Cake flour to prevent it from developing too much gluten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Shamefully delicious served warm from the oven! I did add vanilla and a pinch of salt. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is definitely true pound cake. Came out nice and dense, and perfectly browned. My oven always seems to take longer on baking, so I baked mine for about 1 1/4 hours. I also followed the reviews and added 1 1/2 tsp of powdered vanilla. (I could have added more, it would have taken it nicely). I mixed the butter and sugar for a loooong time in the food processor ( I don't have a hand mixer) until it was super smooth, then made sure not to overmix when adding the eggs, and finally, I poured everything into a mixing bowl and used a hand whisk to add the flour and milk. I think it made a world of difference in the texture, so for those who are having texture problems, try it. The key is to not incorporate too much air after adding the eggs. Thanks for such an authentic recipe :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States