Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Easy to make, yields a large amount good for parties! :] Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Apparently some folks don't know what a pound cake is, and this is it. It's exactly what my grandmother's was like and it's fabulous. Watch the cook time right at the end. The edges may burn quickly at the end. I'm so glad to find a real pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I thought it was great -- I used vanilla & almond extract -- The 1 start people may have over mixed it once the dry stuff is added. Rubber consistancy when baking is usually over mixing!! Pound cake is made with 1 lb of butter/sugar/flour -- that's how its name
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Brangaccio Marks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I reduced this recipe for 10 servings and found it a bit small but terriffic. I added 1 tsp of vanilla, just right. One of the best pound cakes I have ever made. I would add 1 TBSP of vanilla to the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! My family members all loved it! I did add in a tablespoon of vanilla into the batter but otherwise I left it exactly the same. I managed to make to make 1 loaf, 12 cupcakes and a square sheet cake with this one recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I added 3 cups of raisins to this and it is the best I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savanahsirval

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Easy and delicious. My husband wanted pound cake to take out in the boat while fishing. We made several different recipes and this was by far the favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Made the pound cake for my mother's birthday and it was a huge hit. I love it, too! I also added 2 tsp of vanilla and approx. 1 TBSP of lemon rind. Next time a will also a tsp of mace. But it was very tasting and moist. My husband who doesn't like a lot a sweets loved this recipe. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I searched for a pound cake recipe for quite some time before settling on this one... Glad i did... the first loaf was devoured within 30 minutes of it cooling!! I too added vanilla after reading through the comments. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My DH has been driving me crazy asking for pound cake, so I tried this one and we're both happy I did. It is wonderfully dense without being heavy (if that makes sense) and a rich, buttery flavour. At DH's request, I added almond extract, and found that it needed 2 tsp. Instead of three cakes, I used slightly larger pans and made two, so I increased the baking time by about 5 minutes or so. One cake disappeared in a day and a half, so I hid the other one in the freezer where I hope he won't find it for a while. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States