Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Very easy to make and taste great with strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is a grest basic recipe. It's a bit too plain for me so I add lemon zest, vanilla, and I make a lemon glaze to go on top. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Delicious.....This was a big hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was very good and easy to make. I did add a little bit of vanilla extract to it which enhanced the flavor. I only wanted to make one loaf so I scaled the recipe down to 10 servings without any problems. I used this as a base for strawberry shortcake. Several of my guests went back for seconds. I had a request to make this again for Father's Day to go along with some locally grown organic strawberries! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atbarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Turned out perfectly! Tastes exactly how I remember my grandmother's pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Purcell, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corinth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I just made this recipe had no milk and use coconut milk I had at hand wow what a cake I also use 2cups of sugar not 3 as the recipe call for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Collis Collie Pepper Pile

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
AWESOME. An elderly lady once told me that CREAMING means that when you rub it between your fingers there are no sugar crystals. It takes 15-20 minutes if you have a great mixer. Be patient. This did not need anything at all but was incredible as strawberry shortcake. I followed another reviewer's recommendation and baked in a bundt pan @350 for 50 minutes. I had enough for a small loaf pan as well. It does not rise much but I didn't want it to overflow. It makes ALOT of cake... My grandma owned a bakery where she used pound cake cut in 1x2x3(or height of cake), roled in a runny frosting, and then rolled in crushed salted peanuts. She called it a salted nut roll and I am looking forward to that as soon as I get some peanuts. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
made this real pound cake again today. I dont understand the one star ratings this recipe is getting. you absolutely MUST beat the softened butter and sugar for more then five minutes with a good mixer. more like ten minutes. beat that mix like it owes you money. add the eggs one at a time. add your flavorings before the flour. remembering to subtract that liquid amount from the milk amount. add the flour and mix JUST UNTIL its blended in. I made a lemon bundt pound cake today. i used 1 and 1/2 juice and rind of regular lemons. added vanilla also. I only needed small amount of milk. im goin to glaze this deliciousness with lemon glaze and serve it for thanksgiving dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Very good old fashioned pound cake, I did add 2 tsp vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States