Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I have made this about 30 times since finding this recipe...I SOOOO should have posted this rating sooner. This was FANTASTIC...I noticed the last two people rated this with ONE star and they must be crazy or not experienced with baking. I bake almost every day...for the past 10 years and this is BY FAR the best pound cake recipe I have found yet. It is moist, tasty fluffy and flavourful....I think I baked it in less time, but I prefer things baked with a lower temp and less time...just a personal preference. I took it out as soon as the center seemed remotely cooked and left it on the counter for about an hour before attempting cutting it. It was soooo good. My hubby and kids ate a whole one that night and my hubby took another to work the next day and got rave reviews from it. This is the only pound cake I have made since finding this recipe and it will of course be the last...we have found a winner!!! SOOO tasty and moist. I have made this recipe as is about 25 times and a few times I made it with berries or apples or just with cinnamon. Its sooo good the way the recipe intended, but also good once in awhile with berries. Thanks soooooo so much for posting this recipe. Its definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This recipe was super easy to put togetherI used a 10 inch bunt cake pan and it turn out great the time has to be changed to 40minutes @350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This is my Grandmother's Recipe too! I have made a few changes over the years though... I sub heavy whipping cream for the milk and add Vanilla, Butter and Almond flavored extracts! It's a beautiful cake! A hit at every party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
An excellent recipe and a true pound cake, where you use an actual pound of each ingrediant. I reject any recipe that does not have a pound of butter in it. Those cakes are good, but not true poundcakes. I've become a poundcake snob. LOL! I add some lemon zest, or a full two teaspoons of vanilla extract sometimes. I've also been known to trade the sweet milk, for buttermilk. I've made this and the other Grandmother's poundcake from this site over and over and will not use any other recipes for my pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This was delicious and exactly what I was looking for: rich, classic pound cake. I've made this cake twice in the last week. Once with a tsp of almond extract and once with a tsp of vanilla. I scaled it down to 15 servings to make one good sized loaf. Because I didn't have enough of the right ingredients on hand, I substituted half of the white sugar for brown sugar, and the unsalted butter for salted butter. Instead of using parchment paper I buttered and floured the loaf pan. Result was terrific with (or despite??) my modifications! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I think the individuals that posted bad reviews have no concept of what pound cake is. If you're used to Sara Lee or Entenman's, don't bother. Real pound cake got it's name because you are supposed to use a pound of each ingredient. The result should be a very dense cake. Of course, you have to be careful not to overbake or you'll end up with something too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James A. Butler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yes, this is the formula for a classic American pound cake as it has been made for well over a century and a half (1:1:1:1 or 1 pound butter, 1 pound sugar, 1 pound flour, 1 pound eggs.) I used this as a base for petits fours, and the texture stood up to repeated cuts (I halved the recipe, and baked in a 9"X13" pan, then cut 7X10 into (70) 1-1/4" squares) and didn't shed crumbs, neither when it was cut, nor when the fondant was poured over it. I did, however, add more milk. This was so short on liquid that the result was closer to a dough than a batter. I added 50% more milk, and added extracts (combo of almond, vanilla, orange, lemon , maple and coconut) as I needed the cake to have sufficiently assertive and complex flavor to stand up to the uber sweet fondant. The 9"X13" was done in 27 minutes. I cooled it in the pan for about 13 minutes, and it released beautifully onto the rack to finish. This cake is appropriately dense, sturdy and velvety moist (with additional liquid.) It's a 4-1/2 star recipe as is, but a 5 with additional milk and flavoring, which yields distinct sensory improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This turned out terribly. There was far too much butter and I know I followed the recipe to a tee. It was rubbery and tasted more like sweetened bread than any pound cake. If this was the intended outcome then it turned out just right, otherwise it's really just not a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Fantastic! Hard to improve on such a classic, but I did add a tablespoon of vanilla extract - it turned out perfect! I made this with my four year old, and I know we'll be making this for many years to come. Thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Excellent! This was delicious, and not hard to make at all! I used whipping cream instead of milk, and a little white chocolate flavored toroni syrup. I also cut this recipe down (instead of 30 servings, only 10) which was plenty! It made a loaf cake and six cupcakes, I used this for strawberry shortcake and it was delicous! I have to say I was surprised because this had a wonderful texture and flavor, I also sub. margarine for butter, since I didn't have any butter. -Betsy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETSYBADU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States