Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Great pound cake recipe..I altered it a little...I added 1 tsp. vanilla extract and 1 tsp. lemon extract and make it a little denser I omitted one of the egg whites. I baked this in a 10" angel food cake pan @ 325 for 1 hr. and 45 mins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I just made this today for the first time. It's a simple recipe that's true to the old-fashioned pound cake and most importantly, it's delicious! I did add vanilla extract to it and rather than baking it in loaf pans, I divided the batter in between 2 cake pans. It took less time baking this way so, if you're planning on making a layer cake, keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yes, this is the formula for a classic American pound cake as it has been made for well over a century and a half (1:1:1:1 or 1 pound butter, 1 pound sugar, 1 pound flour, 1 pound eggs.) I used this as a base for petits fours, and the texture stood up to repeated cuts (I halved the recipe, and baked in a 9"X13" pan, then cut 7X10 into (70) 1-1/4" squares) and didn't shed crumbs, neither when it was cut, nor when the fondant was poured over it. I did, however, add more milk. This was so short on liquid that the result was closer to a dough than a batter. I added 50% more milk, and added extracts (combo of almond, vanilla, orange, lemon , maple and coconut) as I needed the cake to have sufficiently assertive and complex flavor to stand up to the uber sweet fondant. The 9"X13" was done in 27 minutes. I cooled it in the pan for about 13 minutes, and it released beautifully onto the rack to finish. This cake is appropriately dense, sturdy and velvety moist (with additional liquid.) It's a 4-1/2 star recipe as is, but a 5 with additional milk and flavoring, which yields distinct sensory improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this pound cake last year for the office staff at my school. They asked if I would please make it again this year! Everyone loved it and even remembered it a year later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jldsport88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
While this was baking it smelled like scottish short bread (which I love), it doesn't taste like it but does tastes really good. def worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Wonderful! One note for those who have had problems or those who haven't had a lot of experience baking where eggs are the only leavening: it is really important that all ingredients, but especially the eggs, are at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very simple, not too sweet and not too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgrims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Perfect! I looked at over 30 pound cake recipes, but being a purist, chose this- so glad I did. Lovely crumb, texture and flavor spot on. I halved the recipe (no room in freezer after huge meat sale) and baked it in a bundt pan- it came out perfectly. Do cream the living daylights out of the butter and sugar, and beat for 2 minutes after adding each room temperature egg. Next time I'll experiment with different additions (vanilla, lemon, etc.) but my family LOVED it. Served it with strawberries and whipped heavy cream- Yumm-o. Not only are the possible additions endless, ways to serve, also. Chocolate, fruit, frostings...thanks for the quintessential pound cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
The quintessential pound cake. Couldn't be easier and has turned out perfect every time I've made it. Very moist and dense with a pleasingly sweet and slightly crunchy "crust." Pound cake is my husband's favorite. His grandmother always made it for him on his birthday. He confided recently that this is even better than his grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States