Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very easy to do right if you have a mixer. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Excellent! I think the key to getting a cake with great texture is to make sure that ALL of your ingredients are at room temp before you start. Pre-measure your milk, take your eggs and butter out (it helps to cut your butter up into small cubes before you use your mixer), but yes, take everything out at least 30 mins before you start. Also, be sure to beat at a medium-high speed, rather than a low speed. The batter should be super smooth (no lumps) when you're all done. And it's a bit thicker than regular cake batter too- sorta like frosting at room temp, or maybe just a hair softer. I thought that I had over mixed mine, it was incredibly light and fluffy, but it came out PERFECT and I mixed for a long time in between eggs and milk/flour. I don't think I'll have to worry about over mixing next time. The only modification I made to the recipe was that I added 2tsp of PURE vanilla extract and 2 tsp of almond extract. I could have gotten away with just one of each, or even none at all, it's a tad sweet, but still yummy as ever. Great recipe! It took awhile to find a classic pound cake recipe- I am very pleased:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterflow, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
love this recipe! it was easy delicious and just what i was looking for in a pound cake. Made it in a bundt pan and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
LOVE this easy & basic recipe! It's great the way it is, but I have also used Self Rising flour when I didn't have AP Flour: still good. I have put a fruit and syrup mixture in the bottom of the pan before pouring the batter in- for upside down cake. I have baked the whole recipe in a half sheet pan, then decorated it for birthdays. The best and easiest cake recipe I've ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Rose up for 10 min. Then fell flat to the bottom. I live in a 5000 ft elevation. Could be the reason but how can i adapt for uphere?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
A very traditional and true recipe for pound cake. Nothing wrong with the recipe I just didn't like it as much as I like other poundcakes. I thought it was too sweet and the bottom and sides baked a too thick browned crust that isn't as good as the top or middle. This type of cake is better the next day when the ingredients have time to mellow into one another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Best and easiest pound cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was SOOOOOO easy to make! I cut the recipe in half (just me and my 3 yr old son)...I pulled the ingredients out as soon as I walked in the door after work. About half an hour later, I mixed the ingredients together and baked 2 small loaves. It turned out perfect! Moist and compact...just like it should be! I did make an adjustment...I wanted mine for strawberries, so I made a vanilla key-lime pound cake...this is going in my recipe box at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ezeyes
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This cake is perfect as is. I also baked one with a few changes: added 1/4c sugar free caramel syrup and 1/2c cocoa powder and turned out a very good chocolate pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezeyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Tasted a bit bland, and I'm not sure why. I used regular salted butter, I also used a mix of brown and white sugar, and added a bit of vanilla (which the recipe didn't indicate, but I followed some reviewers advice). The cake rose well, and had a good texture, but the flavour was a bit dull. Maybe I should have put extra vanilla. Will try again another time, and see if it comes out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States