Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by lvn5e
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this recipe with soy milk, soy margerine and spelt flour. It came out nicely moist (did not take as long to bake as expected) and crusty on the outside. I would halve the sugar next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. The only thing I added to it was some vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made this cake last night (had a sweet tooth) This has got to be the best butter/pound cake recipe I have ever found. I messed up by using too small of a pan (so be sure to use a bigger pan) which resulted in the cake falling in the center and my having to cook it longer to compensate for my error. I too cooked the cake at 325* and added an extra few minutes to the time to get the result I wanted. Even with all of my mistakes the cake was unbelievably wonderful. It is worth all and all in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time and came out perfect! Very easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This cake is great. I have made it several times. The first time I followed the recipe, except using a bundt pan because this is what I had. It is excellent! Next time added a teaspoon of homemade vanilla extract - even more yummy. Last time, 1 teaspoon of lemon extract and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract - so good. However, this cake is perfect with just the recipe as stated! Classic flavor that you can adjust as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wow, this was great! I baked at 325 since I used dark pans and they were done in 45-50 minutes. Nice light texture but dense at the same time-different than any store bought cake I have ever tried. this is going to be my standard cake recipe for the trifles I like to make. I did add 2 tsp of my homemade vanilla since I love the flavor it gives. I was very careful about the mixing after I added the flour since so many seemed to have problems. The batter was very light and pretty much stayed where it poured so needed to be flattened a bit. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is perfect! I've been looking for pound cake that tastes like what my mom used to make. I did add one tsp. almond extract. My husband loves it warm with raspberry jam. So easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynthia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this out of curiosity as I really wondered how it would turn out without any baking powder. I followed directions exactly as laid out and got the most beautiful results. My Nigerian grandmother made cakes like this,with delectable flavor,rich texture and thoroughly moist. I added orange zest (as Mama would have done for its incomparable flavor profile) to subsequent cakes but it's really fantastic as is. I do mine in Bundt pans and bake for 25 minutes then tent with foil and bake for 10 minutes more. This is super easy and a great cake to whip up for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Holy moly this is a good cake. I made it today for my husband's birthday. He wanted a "real" pound cake and I must say that this recipe delivered. So delicious. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and next time I'll add lemon flavoring and zest.....soooo good. Taste like what mama used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BernaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great, classic pound cake. Made for a fondue night with our friends. Excellent dipped in chocolate and the leftovers made great strawberry short cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States