Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I love this recipe! It's not dry like most pound cake I tasted, it's light, fluffy, but still crisp on the outside. I added a teaspoon of baking powder and added a little bit of vanilla just to kick it. And it was wonderful. I'll try to make it again without any modification next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferdynand Antonius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made this cake today for the first time. It is amazing! We will try it tomorrow with strawberries (some with balsamic vinegar)and whipped cream. I made 2/3 of a batter and put it in my bundt pan. Cooked at 350 for 45 min. Perfect. I followed as written except used heavy cream since I was out of milk. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this cake yesterday. It was a great hit with my family. My picky three year old said it was the best cake ever. I did add 1 tbsp of lemon extract and 1/2 tbsp. of vanilla extract. I also sifted my flour. which equaled up to 3 1/2 cups of flour. I will be making this again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I did have to bake the cake 20 mins. longer for a 10 inch bundt cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmr248

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've never made pound cake before and this was a fantastically perfect recipe! I only made a third of the recipe and used it for strawberry shortcake, and got RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Excellent! Exactly what I would expect from pound cake. I will add vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
We enjoyed this classic cake! Just the recipe I was looking for. I added 1 Tbsp of vanilla extract and it turned out wonderful. I was planning on freezing a couple of the loaves but I don't think we will have a need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Simple and tasty! Added a little vanilla extract, scaled recipe down to make one cake. Baking in square pan in convection oven only took 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Was an excellent pound cake for our Memorial Day picnic this year. It paired well with a lemon pie filling... The sweet and sour complimented one another. Will definitely make it again, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I increased the batter amount to 1 1/2 times the ingredients to make a 16 x 16 sheet cake. WOW! This turned out amazing. FYI - I added 1 TBS of vanilla and 1 cup of heavy whipping cream instead of milk as suggested by another. I will be making a 2 layer 16 x 16 graduation cake this weekend. Will let you know how it turns and will post a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweeteelme
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
First time making this pound cake. Excellent. Will definitely recommend it. I read the reviews and did some variation. I used one cup of heavy whipping cream in place of milk. I added one teaspoon each of pure vanilla, lemon and almond extract . Baked at 325 for 10 inch tube pound cake for 50 minutes and the loaf for about 25-30 minutes. It was enough batter for both. It was so easy to make. As they recommended room temperature on your eggs and butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeteelme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States